2nd women's T20I: New Zealand wins last-ball thriller

With one run needed off the last ball, Hannah Rowe steered a length ball from Mansi Joshi to the fielder at point and completed the single.

Smriti Mandhana's record-breaking half-century went in vain as India lost the opening T20I by 23 runs.   -  AFP

India women lost the second Twenty20 International by four wickets after a late flurry of wickets injected fresh life into a chase that New Zealand was in control of.

Periodic updates

10:36am New Zealand seals a thrilling win and takes an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

10:29am: Arundhati Reddy's twin strikes in the 18th over has brought India back into the match. New Zealand needs nine runs off the last over.

10:18am New Zealand is on course for a series-clinching win here. It is 117 for three after 17 overs, needs 19 more runs from 18 balls. Suzie Bates has led the way and is batting on 62. Wicketkeeper Katey Martin is giving her company.

9:58am New Zealand is 80 for two after 12 overs, needs a further 56 runs at seven runs per over. Suzie Bates batting on 37 in the company of Amy Satterthwaite, who is on 17.

9:42am New Zealand is 50 for two after eight overs. Suzie Bates and Katie Guerrey are the two batters who have been dismissed. Poonam Yadav, the leg-spinner, has been introduced into the attack with India continuing to search for wickets. White Ferns needs a further 86 runs.

9:22am New Zealand is off to a good start, it is 29 for no loss after four overs. Sophie Devine's batting on 15, with Suzie Bates on 13.

8:55am India finishes with 135 for six in 20 overs. Jemimah Rodrigues top-scored with 72 runs off 53 balls.

8:33am Into the last five overs, India 100 for three. Jemimah Rodrigues is batting on 48, Deepti Sharma on 6.

8:21am India struggling for momentum here. Harmanpreet Kaur fell for 5, driving uppishly off Leigh Kasperek and being caught at cover by Amy Satterthwaite. Jemimah Rodrigues is batting on 39, with India 86 for three. Deepti Sharma has joined Jemimah with Hemalatha retiring with a shoulder injury.

8:08am OUT! Smriti Mandhana falls for 36. She picks out long-on and Rosemary Mair gives New Zealand an important breakthrough. India 71 for two after 9.4 overs.

8:01am After eight overs, India is 63 for one. Smriti Mandhana is batting on 32, Jemimah Rodrigues on 27.

7:46am After four overs, India is 33 for one. A couple of sixes in the last couple of overs, one off the blade of Jemimah Rodrigues and one from Smriti Mandhana, to up the scoring rate after Priya Punia was dismissed cheaply by Sophie Devine.

7:30am: Anna Peterson to begin proceedings, Priya Punia and Smriti Mandhana are India's openers.

Toss update: Amy Satterthwaite, New Zealand women's captain, won the toss and chose to field first.


New Zealand: Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Katie Gurrey, Amy Satterthwaite (c), Katey Martin (wk), Anna Peterson, Leigh Kasperek, Hannah Rowe, Amelia Kerr, Lea Tahuhu, Rosemary Mair

India: Smriti Mandhana, Priya Punia, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi