Patil and Rodrigues score fifties, India Women wrap up series 3-0

Fifties from Anuja Patil and Jemimah Rodrigues set up a seven-wicket victory for India Women against Sri Lanka Women in the fourth T20I and win the five-match series 3-0.

India has a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

India has a 1-0 lead in the five-match series. | Photo Credit: AP

  • Rodrigues gets her fifty in 37 balls with a six off Ranasinghe's bowling and India wins the match by seven wickets. India wrap up the series 3-0 with the final and fifth T20I to be played on Tuesday at Katunayake.
  • Its fifty for Anuja Patil (50 off 36 balls, 7x4)as she smashes three more fours off Siriwardene's bowling to reduce the equation to 12 runs needed from 18 balls .
  • India needs 25 runs off 24 balls. Patil ups the scoring rate with three more boundaries as the equation now stands at almost run-a-ball.
  • Hundred up for India in 11.5 overs as Rodrigues takes a single off Ranasinghe's bowling.
  • Patil and Rodrigues add fifty runs for the fourth wicket in 40 balls. India needs 43 runs off the 36 balls
  • Rodrigues keeps India in the hunt as she reaches 36 off 26 balls (5x4, 1x6) with 50 runs needed in the final seven overs. India Women 85/3 (10 overs)
  • 79 runs needed off 60 balls for India as Sri Lankan skipper Atapattu concedes four runs off her first over.
  • Rodrigues smashes another four off Sharina Ravikumar's bowling as India nears the 50-run mark at the end of five overs. India Women 48/3 (5 Overs)
  • India three down as Taniya Bhatia is caught by Atapattu off Ranasinghe's bowling. At the other end, Jemimah Rodrigues continues her good form with a six and a four off the first six balls she faces. India Women 41/3 (4 overs)
  • Ranasinghe strikes twice in the same over! Pacer Oshadi Ranasinghe concedes a boundary off her first ball, but gets both the Indian openers off the second and fifth ball of her over. An early dent in the chase for India. India Women 18/2 (2 overs)
  • Mithali Raj starts the chase with two boundaries off Udeshika Prabodhani's first over. India Women 13/0 (1 Over)
  • Sri Lanka sets India a target of 135 runs after some clean hitting from skipper Chamari Atapattu and Shashikala Siriwardene, who added 52 runs in 43 balls for the third wicket. Sri Lankan batters kept the run rate at a healthy 7 runs per over. Sri Lanka Women 134/5 (17 overs) , Shashikala Siriwardene 40, Chamari Atapattu 31; Anuja Patil 3-36
  • A fighting total on the cards for the host as Sri Lanka nears 120 with two more overs to go. Sri Lanka Women 118/4 (15 overs)
  • Sri Lanka loses its fourth wicket as Siriwardene departs for a well-made 40 off 32 balls in Deepti Sharma's bowling. Sri Lanka Women 109/4 (13.4 overs)
  • Siriwardene brings up Sri Lanka's hundred with a boundary off Arundhati Reddy's 13th over. Sri Lanka Women 104/3 (13 overs)
  • Radha Yadav lures Atapattu out of the crease as the Sri Lankan skipper misses the ball completely, keeper Taniya Bhatia is quick to dislodge the bails bringing an end to a breezy innings of 31 runs off 26 balls. Sri Lanka Women 96/3 (12 overs)
  • Shashikala Siriwardene 24*(20 balls) and Chamari Atapattu 24*(20 balls) keep Sri Lanka's scoring rate at 8 runs per over. Sri Lanka Women 81/2 (10 overs)
  • Sri Lanka reaches fifty in the sixth over, with Atapattu's boundary off Radha Yadav's bowling. Sri Lanka Women 52/2 (6 overs)
  • Off-spinner Anuja Patil strikes twice to remove Mendis and number three Hasini Perera, but captain Chamari Atapattu keeps the score board ticking by scoring boundaries at will. Sri Lanka Women 47/2 (5 overs)
  • Sri Lanka off to a brisk start as opener Yasoda Mendis smashes two fours in the first over by Arundhati Reddy. Sri Lanka Women 27/0 (2.4 overs)
  • The play resumes with 17 overs to be bowled in each innings due to the delay.
  • Match delayed due to wet ground.
  • India leads the five-match T20I series against Sri Lanka 2-0 and will head into the fourth game aiming to seal the series. Jemimah Rodrigues' composed fifty guided India to a five-wicket victory in the third T20I in Colombo while the previous game was washed out.  Poonam Yadav's 4-26 restricted Sri Lanka to 155 as India won the first T20I by 13 runs.


Toss: India Women won the toss and have opted to bowl.


India Women: Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Anuja Patil, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav

Sri Lanka Women: Yasoda Mendis, Chamari Athapaththu (capt), Dilani Manodara (wk), Kavisha Dilhari, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Ama Kanchana, Shashikala Siriwardene, Nilakshi de Silva, Sripali Weerakkody, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :
Download Sportstar App
Download Sportstar App
 Daily football podcast
 FIFA World Cup Group C scenarios
Connect With Us