Harmanpreet, Poonam deny Sri Lanka Women consolation win

India Women wrapped the five-match series 4-0 after thrashing host Sri Lanka by 51 runs in the fifth and final T20I.

Updated : Sep 25, 2018 13:16 IST

India Women have sealed the five-match series 3-0.
India Women have sealed the five-match series 3-0.

India Women have sealed the five-match series 3-0.

Key highlights from the fifth and final Twenty20 International between India Women and Sri Lanka Women.

1:03pm: Sri Lanka all out for 105 in 17.5 overs as India Women win the fifth and final T20I by 51 runs to wrap the five-match series 4-0. Harmanpreet top-scored for India with a 38-ball 63 while Poonam Yadav picked three wickets.

12:58pm: India now on the top with three quick wickets. Sri Lanka Women 101 for 9 and need 56 off 18 balls.

12:49pm: Sri Lanka Women need 65 off 30 balls with five wickets remaining. The target at this stage looks achievable but prove to be a tricky one.

12:25pm: Sri Lanka Women are three wickets down after Siriwardene was bowled by Radha Yadav on 22. After 10 overs, the host is 58 for 3.

12:03pm: Deepti Sharma gives the start India would have hoped for defending 156. She took out both the openers early with Sri Lanka 29/2 in 5 overs.

11:53am: Deepti Sharma strikes first over to remove Athapaththu for a duck as Sri Lanka Women chase India's target of 157.

11:34am: India Women failed to play the complete 20 overs and were all out for 156 in 18.3 overs, with skipper Harmanpreet scoring a fiery 38-ball 63. For Sri Lanka, Siriwardene and Fernando returned with three wickets apiece. Will India be able to defend the total and end the series 4-0?

11:12am: Harmanpreet Kaur unbeaten on 53 and would be key in the remaining five overs of India's innings. Jemimah Rodrigues falls on 46 and soon after Veda Krishnamurthy (8) and Anuja Patil (1) followed back. India Women 134/5 in 15 overs.

10:49am: Jemimah Rodrigues (43*) and Harmanpreet Kaur's (20*) fifty-run partnership has given India the platform to go for the final push in the final overs. India Women 89/2 in 10 overs.

10:28am: After put in to bat, India Women have got off to a decent start but lost two wickets in the form of openers Mithali Raj (12) and Smriti Mandhana (0). Athapaththu and Weerakkody struck early for Sri Lanka, with India Women 33/2 in 5 overs.

Toss: Sri Lanka Women won the toss and have opted to field.


India Women: Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav

Sri Lanka Women: Yasoda Mendis, Chamari Athapaththu (capt), Rebeca Vandort (wk), Eshani Lokusuriyage, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Shashikala Siriwardene, Nilakshi de Silva, Inoshi Priyadharshani, Sripali Weerakkody

India has already sealed the five-match series 3-0 with one getting washed out. Sri Lanka would like to pick a consolation win in the last and inconsequential game.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment