An Eden Gardens stand to be named after Ganguly

Six stands in Eden Gardens are to be named after former Indian cricketers Sourav Ganguly, Pankaj Roy and former Cricket Association of Bengal presidents Jagmohan Dalmiya, B. N. Dutt, A. N. Ghosh and Snehasnshu Acharya.

Sourav Ganguly has played 113 Tests and 311 ODIs for India.   -  K. R. Deepak

With the army giving the go-ahead, the decks have been cleared for naming six Eden Gardens stands after eminent personalities involved with the game in the state including former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly and late cricket administrator Jagmohan Dalmiya, a Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) official said here on Thursday.

The four others stands will be christened after former cricketer Pankaj Roy and former CAB presidents B. N. Dutt, A. N. Ghosh and Snehasnshu Acharya.

CAB president Sourav Ganguly said: "We received the permission from the defence authorities on Thursday. We will complete the work as early as possible".

The proposal had been passed in the CAB working committee meeting last year.

But with the army being the custodian of the Maidan, where the Eden Gardens is located, its permission is mandatory before the decision can be implemented.

  Dugout videos