Central contracts for players to be discussed in CoA meet

The CoA, on Wednesday and Thursday in Mumbai, will discuss the pending central contracts for players, ICC, IPL among other things.

Representative image.   -  Getty Images

The pending central contracts for 2016-17 will be among the important topics for discussion when the Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) Committee of Administrators (CoA) meets here on Wednesday and Thursday.

Along with the central contracts, the CoA is expected to discuss the International Cricket Council (ICC), Indian Premier League (IPL) and other matters.

In prolific form, Cheteshwar Pujara has reminded the BCCI that it's time to give primacy to its Test cricketers and reward them with handsome contracts.

Pujara wasn't picked by any IPL team from 2015 to 2017. In November 2015, BCCI put him on 'Grade B' along with nine others with an annual retainer of Rs. 50 lakh. With 1259 runs so far in 12 Tests this season, Pujara has made a statement that he deserves much more.

The BCCI, occupied with court cases relating to the administrative reforms recommended by the Lodha Committee, did not announce the central contracts for 2016-17. But the former BCCI president Anurag Thakur had declared an increase in Test match fee — from Rs. 7 lakh to Rs. 15 lakh per game. This was after Pujara went unsold in the IPL 2016 auction.

Unsatisfied with the central contract structure, Indian skipper Virat Kohli urged former BCCI secretary Ajay Shirke to review the same.

Pujara’s Test match fee — starting from the three Test series against New Zealand till now — would be Rs. 5 lakh short of Rs. 2 crore. But as some people in the BCCI ask, "What’s Rs. 2 crore in comparison to T.Natarajan getting Rs. 3 crore and Karn Sharma getting Rs. 3.2 crore for two months of IPL?"

The Indian team’s support staff have been employed on a series-by-series basis and they may be offered an annual contract.

Even as Cricket Australia announced a 125 % average pay rise for its women cricketers, there is a possibility that even payment for past and present women cricketers would be reviewed as well.

Those who received the BCCI central contracts in November 2015 were:


Grade A (Rs. 1 crore): Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ajinkya Rahane.

Grade B (Rs. 50 lakh): Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara and Mohammad Shami.

Grade C (Rs. 25 lakh): Amit Mishra, Axar Patel, Stuart Binny, Wriddhiman Saha, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron, Karn Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, K. L. Rahul, Dhawal Kulkarni, Harbhajan Singh and S. Arvind.


Grade A (Rs. 15 lakh): Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and M. D. Thirushkamini.

Grade B (Rs. 10 lakh): Smriti Mandana, Rajeswari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bist, Veda Krishnamurthy, Niranjana Nagarajan and Poonam Raut

  Dugout videos