Avesh Khan produced an effective spell of pace bowling to help India defend a moderate total and beat Bangladesh by 82 runs in the opening match of the international under-19 tri-series at the Jadavpur University Salt Lake campus ground in Kolkata on Friday.

Beginning the bowling attack for India, which set a target of 159 runs for the visitor, Khan produced a wicket off the first delivery surprising the Bangladesh opener Mohammad Saif Hassan with searing pace and movement. The tall and brawny bowler, who made his first-class debut for the Madhya Pradesh Ranji side earlier this year, impressed with his bowling as he hit the deck hard with raw pace giving the batsmen little time to adjust.

Showing fine consistency, Khan produced a wicket each in his next three overs to see the end of the visitor’s top-order by the seventh over of the Bangladesh innings. Khan almost single-handedly ended the resolve of the visitor in his spell of six overs where he conceded just four runs (6-3-4-4) while scalping as many Bangladesh wickets. Reduced to 23 for four in 6.2 overs, Bangladesh could never recover from the setback seeing its innings folding up in 76 runs in 22 overs. Shafiul Hayet Ridoy (26) was the lone Bangladesh batsman offering some resistance to the Indian attack as Kanishk Seth, the left-arm pacer, who shared the new ball with Khan, and leg-spinner, Zeeshan Ansari, accounted for two wickets each to see off the rest of the visitor’s batting order.

Earlier, M. S. Washington Sundar held the Indian innings with a patient 34 as his colleagues on the other end failed to replicate the temperament and left in a huff. The left-handed opener was scalped by the Bangladesh captain and off-spinner, Mehedy Hasan Miraz, reducing India to 62 for five. Anmolpreet Singh (28), Zeeshan Ansari and Shubham Mavi (25) produced some rearguard action to haul the Indian total beyond the 150-mark and gave the bowlers a target to defend. Miraz was the pick of Bangladesh bowlers scalping three Indian batsmen. India earned five points from the win while Bangladesh remained on zero.

Khan said the credit for his fine performance goes to the former Indian captain and the present coach, Rahul Dravid, whose guidance has helped him grow as a bowler. “Dravid told me to bowl stump to stump and that is what I tried to do. He is sharing his rich cricketing experience with us and telling the bowlers what to do from a batsman’s point of view,” Khan said. “When the team got out for a small total of 158, Dravid did not say anything specific about winning or losing. He just told us to go out in the middle and give our best,” Khan said. Khan, whose menacing pace bowling earned lot of praise, also gave credit to former India cricketer and his coach, Amay Khurasiya, for shaping him up as a bowler.

“We have been playing together for the last two years as a team and have not faced such a humiliating defeat before. Our batting failed completely and the Indian bowlers also did a good job,” Bangladesh captain, Mehedy Hasan Miraz, said after the defeat. “It is a long tournament and we hope to get used to conditions and make a strong comeback,” he added.


India: M. S. Washington Sundar lbw Miraz 34, Ishan Kishan c & b Halim 6, Virat Singh b Halim 0, Ricky Bhui c Shanto b Miraz 8, Sarfaraz Khan lbw Gazi 2, Anmolpreet Singh c Shaifuddin b Saha 28, Mayank Dagar (run out) 6, Kanishk Seth b Gazi 1, Zeeshan Ansari c & b Miraz 34, Avesh Khan (not out) 25, Shubham Mavi b Shaifuddin 1; Extras (b-2, nb-2, w-9): 13; Total (in 45.3 overs): 158.

Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-25, 3-43, 4-52, 5-62, 6-75, 7-76, 8-118, 9-147.

Bangladesh bowling: Mohammad Abdul Halim 7-2-24-2, Mohammad Shaifuddin 7.3-0-27-1, Mehedy Hassan Miraz 10-1-31-3, Saleh Ahmed Shawon Gazi 10-2-26-2, Sanjit Saha 10-0-43-1, Saeed Sarkar 1-0-5-0.

Bangladesh: Mohammed Saif Hassan b Avesh Khan 0, Pinak Ghosh c Kishan b Avesh Khan 1, Mohammad Najmul Hossain Shanto b Avesh Khan 7, Mohammad Zakir Hasan c Mavi b Seth 9, Mehedy Hassan Miraz c Sundar b Avesh Khan 0, Shafiul Hayet b Dagar 26, Mohammad Shaifuddin c Kishan b Seth 1, Saeed Sarkar c Bhui b Mavi 13, Sanjit Saha (not out) 7, Saleh Ahmed Shawon Gazi c Sarfaraz Khan b Ansari 0, Mohammad Abdul Halim lbw Ansari 0; Extras (b-1, nb-2, w-9): 12; Total (in 22 overs): 76.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-9, 3-16, 4-23, 5-26, 6-32, 7-49, 8-75, 9-76.

India bowling: Avesh Khan 6-3-4-4, Kanishk Seth 8-0-45-2, Shubham Mavi 3-0-18-1, Mayank Dagar 3-1-7-1, Zeeshan Ansari 2-1-1-2.