Asia Cup Final: Jadhav, Kuldeep hold nerves to steer India home

India beats Bangladesh by three wickets to clinch the title.

Rohit Sharma steering the Indian ship for now.   -  Twitter @ICC


Playing XI:

Bangladesh: Liton Das (wk), Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, M.S. Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

TOSS: India elects to field


It will be the other Men in Green — who deservedly booked a place in the summit clash by ousting Pakistan in a virtual semifinal — who will hope to beat their big-match jinx against India.


While hoping to get an early breakthrough, Bangladesh will also be hoping that its trump card Mushfiqur Rahim continues to lead the batting charge. Thanks to his career best (144) in the opener against Sri Lanka and 99 against Pakistan on Wednesday, Rahim separates Dhawan and Sharma at the top of the run-getters' chart.

READ: Familiar foes gear up for big day

India will hope to get back to its best after the tie against Afghanistan. No doubt India had made five changes to give its bench a go, still the team sans the in-form openers appeared shaky in a chase of 253.



India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, M.S. Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Siddharth Kaul.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque.

Hello and welcome to Sportstarlive's coverage of the final of the Asia Cup 2018 between India and Bangladesh at the Dubai International Stadium on Friday.