IPL 2019 Final MI vs CSK LIVE: Tahir edges past Rabada in Purple Cap race

Imran Tahir dismissed Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan to edge past Kagiso Rabada in Purple Cap race.

Imran Tahir celebrates a wicket against Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2019.   -  R. RAGU

Chennai Super Kings leg-spinner Imran Tahir snatched the Purple Cap from Kagiso Rabada during the IPL final against Mumbai Indians in Hyderabad.

Tahir moved to 26 wickets, one more than Rabada, after he dismissed Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan.


The rest of the players in the list are from teams that did not make it to the playoffs.

Top 5 in Purple Cap race

Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings): 26 wickets

Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals): 25 wickets

Shreyas Gopal (Rajasthan Royals): 20 wickets

Deepak Chahar (Chennai Super Kings): 20 wickets

Khaleel Ahmed (Sunrisers Hyderabad): 19 wickets


The match is underway. Report to be updated.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos