IPL 2021 Match 1: MI v RCB- Head-to-head record, Highest run-getters and Top wicket-takers

In the last five encounters, Mumbai Indians hold a slight advantage over RCB, winning three times compared to RCB’s two.

This will be Mumbai and Bangalore's 30th encounter against each other.   -  SPORTZPICS

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 champion Mumbai Indians (MI) will kick start this year’s IPL against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in match 1 of the tournament on April 9 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Head to head: (29 matches: MI 19 | RCB 10)

Mumbai has clashed with Bangalore 29 times in the IPL and enjoys a 19-10 win-loss advantage.

Last IPL meeting

In the last five encounters, Mumbai Indians hold a slight advantage over RCB, winning three times compared to RCB’s two. Last season, the first leg was won by Bangalore in a super-over thriller but Mumbai got the better of Bangalore in the second leg.

READ|IPL 2021 MI team preview

Both teams faced each other last on Oct 29, 2020, at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. MI (166/5 in 19.1 overs) beat RCB (164/6 in 20 overs) by 5 wickets.

This victory helped MI strengthen its position at the top of the table and it became the first team to reach 16 points that season making its play-off qualification all but confirmed. 

MI stand-in skipper Kieron Pollard decided to bowl first after winning the toss in Abu Dhabi.

Devdutt Padikkal (74) and Josh Philippe (33) guided RCB to a decent total of 164/6 in 20 overs. However, MI’s Suryakumar Yadav’s heroics with the bat (79*) helped MI notch the win fairly comfortably as the batsman finished the innings off with a boundary off Mohammad Siraj.

READ| IPL 2021 RCB team preview

In the first leg, both teams played out a thriller where Virat Kohli’s RCB emerged victorious at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

After RCB posted 201 runs on the board, Mumbai needed a strong start but lost its captain Rohit Sharma in the second over itself. However, Ishan Kishan took the hull and brought stability to Mumbai’s innings with a well-played fifty. In the 17 over, Pollard hit Adam Zampa for 27 runs. With 5 remaining off the last ball, he hit a boundary to level scores.

MI batted first in the super-over but Saini’s impeccable bowling restricted Mumbai to just 7 runs and also got him the wicket of Pollard.

During Bangalore’s super-over, tensions rose when Bumrah conceded just two from two balls. Needing 6 off the last three, AB de Villiers hit a boundary to bring down the target to two off two. The match went to the final ball but Kohli hit a four to take RCB home.


Top performers in the fixture

Highest run-gettersRuns scored
Virat Kohli (RCB: 2008-Present)695
AB de Villiers (RCB: 2011-Present)634
Kieron Pollard (MI: 2010-Present)539
Top wicket-takersWickets taken
Harbhajan Singh (MI: 2008-2017)22
Yuzvendra Chahal (RCB: 2014-Present)19
Jasprit Bumrah (MI: 2013-Present)19


Stars from last season

Highest run-gettersRuns scored
Ishan Kishan (MI)516
Quinton de Kock (MI)503
Suryakumar Yadav (MI)480
Top wicket-takersWickets taken
Jasprit Bumrah (MI)27
Yuzvendra Chahal (RCB)21
Trent Boult (MI)25
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :