IPL 2021 preview: SRH hopes to get going against DC

IPL 2021: Sunrisers Hyderabad will look to carry that momentum against Delhi Capitals at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

Rashid Khan has again been very consistent and his duel with Rishabh Pant could be one of the most eagerly-awaited match-ups so far.   -  IPL/Sportzpics

After suffering three losses, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) finally found success with a nine-wicket win over Punjab Kings (PNKS) on Wednesday.

It took an unbeaten 63 from Jonny Bairstow and a three-wicket haul from Khaleel Ahmed to turn the match in SRH’s favour. SRH will look to carry that momentum against Delhi Capitals (DC) at
the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

READ: Axar Patel recovers from COVID-19, joins Delhi Capitals squad

DC, however, is a tough nut to crack. The side, led by the young Rishabh Pant, is on a roll with three wins in four outings. Experienced opener Shikhar Dhawan is in great touch, with scores of 92 (vs PBKS) and 85 (vs CSK) to his name.

READ: IPL 2021: Natarajan to undergo knee surgery

DC legspinner Amit Mishra, the all-time highest wicket-taker in the IPL, scalped four wickets to star in DC’s six-wicket victory over Mumbai Indians on Tuesday. Fellow spinner R. Ashwin has been unusually subdued, having picked up just one wicket in the campaign so far. Batsmen Prithvi Shaw and Pant have recorded a fifty each, but have yet to hit top gear.

SRH depends heavily on its powerful opening combination of David Warner and Bairstow to get the big totals. While Warner has been consistent, his subdued tournament strike-rate of 116 reflects the slow, tricky nature of the pitches at Chennai. New Zealand mainstay Kane Williamson made his first appearance of the season on Wednesday, and is set to play the role of sheet-anchor.

READ: IPL 2021: Bairstow, Rashid star as Sunrisers beats Punjab for first win

The SRH bowling attack is depleted by the absence of left-arm seamer T. Natarajan, who wil undergo a knee surgery. The side has been served well by Rashid Khan, Abhishek Sharma and Khaleel, all of whom boast of an economy rate of less than six an over.


Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan, Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Vishnu Vinod, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddarth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Sreevats Goswami (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Virat Singh, Jason Holder, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul, Basil Thampi, Jagadeesha Suchith, Kedar Jadhav, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman.



For more updates, follow Sportstar on :