IPL 2020 in UAE: All you need to know about match timings, venues and squads

IPL news: Here is all you need to know about the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 which will be held in UAE from September 19 to November 10.

IPL Trophy

The 53-day event will be played across Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.   -  K. V. S. Giri

After being informed about the Central Government having provisionally granted permission for the Indian Premier League’s (IPL’s) 2020 edition to be rescheduled in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) due to COVID-19 outbreak, the IPL governing council on Sunday among other major decisions postponed the final to November 10 to adhere to the broadcaster’s request. The complete schedule is yet to be released.

Here is all you need to know about the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 and the major takeaways from the IPL Governing Council meeting.

READ| Subscribe to read the latest edition of Sportstar eBooks

Where will IPL 2020 be held?

IPL 2020 will take place in the UAE from September 19 to November 10, pending clearances from the Indian government.

What time will the IPL 2020 matches begin?

The night matches will start at 7.30pm IST (6.00pm UAE time), and afternoon matches at 3.30pm IST (2.00pm UAE time).

READ | IPL 2020 squad: Full list of players from all eight teams

What are the venues for IPL 2020?

The 53-day event will be played across Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

Is there a cap on the number of players a team can carry?

The IPL governing council has set a 24-player limit for each squad, and approved the use of unlimited Covid-19 substitutes.

Did IPL retain all its sponsors including VIVO?

VIVO has pulled out as IPL sponsor for this season, but intends to be back in 2021 and 2022.

What are the testing requirements for players and the support staff?

According to the standard operating procedures (SOPs) - the final draft is set to be shared with the franchises  - besides a mandatory PCR test “within 96 hours preceding departure”, every player and support staff member will have to test negative thrice during the week-long quarantine in UAE to be allowed inside the bio-secure bubble.

When do the eight teams leave for the UAE?

The BCCI is likely make training facilities in UAE available for pre-tournament camps starting August 27. All teams except Chennai Super Kings are excepted to leave on August 19 or 20. Only CSK cricketers have been informed “to be ready to leave on August 10”, should the need arise.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos