IPL 2021, Match 27: MI vs CSK - Head-to-head record, highest run-getters, top wicket-takers

IPL 2021, MI vs CSK: Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians has won four of its last five meetings against Mahendra Singh Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings.

Having won just one of the last five encounters against Mumbai Indians, the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings will try to improve the record come Saturday.   -  THE HINDU

IPL 2021: MI v CSK- Head-to-head record, players to watch out for

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 champion Mumbai Indians (MI) will play the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in match 27 of the tournament on May 1 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.


  IPL 2021, CSK vs MI Highlights: Pollard 87 leads Mumbai to incredible last-ball win vs Chennai by four wickets

Head to head record (32 matches: MI 19 | CSK 13)

MI and CSK have developed quite some rivalry between them over the 13 editions of the IPL. Both teams are known for having a fierce winning mentality and matches between MI and CSK are usually a treat to watch, especially for neutrals. Out of the 32 times, the teams have clashed against one another, MI has won 19 times while CSK’s win count stands at 13.


IPL 2021 preview: Table-topper CSK ready for Mumbai Indians challenge  

Last IPL meeting

Despite sharing an overall competitive rivalry, MI has dominated CSK in the last five encounters winning four matches.

MI and CSK last played each other on Oct 23, 2020, at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium where Mumbai Indians (116/0 in 12.2 overs) beat Chennai Super Kings (114/9 in 20 overs).

On a day of a humiliating defeat for CSK, Trent Boult of MI was the man of the match for his heroics with the ball.

Bowling first, MI scalped four wickets in the first three overs courtesy Boult and Bumrah, which crushed CSK’s morale. A commendable effort by CSK batsman Sam Curran where he scored 52 dragged CSK past the 100-run mark.

CSK vs MI IPL 2021 Dream11 Predicted Playing 11 Live Updates: Rohit's Mumbai Indians vs Dhoni's Super Kings

With the bat, MI showed the same efficiency as Ishan Kishan and Quinton de Kock racked up 52 runs in the powerplay. Never really losing momentum, their partnership sealed a comfortable 10-wickets victory for MI.

The first leg between the two sides was the IPL opener for the 2020 season at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi where CSK comfortbly brushed aside the defending champion. CSK (166/5 in 19.2 overs) beat MI (162/9 in 20 overs).

Top performers in the fixture

RankBatsmanRuns scored
1.Suresh Raina (CSK: 2008-2015, 2018-Present)730
2.Rohit Sharma (MI: 2011-Present)658
3.MS Dhoni (CSK: 2008-2015, 2018-Present)643
RankBowlerWickets taken
1.Lasith Malinga (MI: 2008-2020)37
2.Dwayne Bravo (CSK: 2011-2015, 2018-Present)27
3.Harbhajan Singh (MI: 2008-2017)26


Top performers last season

RankBatsmanRuns scored
1.Ishan Kishan (MI)516
2.Quinton de Kock (MI)503
3.Suryakumar Yadav (MI)480
RankBowlerWickets taken
1.Jasprit Bumrah (MI)27
2.Trent Boult (MI)25
3.Rahul Chahar (MI)15


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :