IPL 2020, SRH vs MI Match 56: Sunrisers Hyderabad beats Mumbai Indians, qualifies for playoffs

MI vs SRH, IPL 2020 Today's Match Updates: Get the latest updates and news on Rohit Sharma's injury, IPL head-to-head updates, predicted playing Xl, players to watch out for today's match, team squad updates and more at Sportstar.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad players celebrate a wicket.   -  BCCI/IPL

Hello and welcome to Match 56 of IPL 2020 in the UAE. Mumbai Indians (MI) will take on Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Sharjah on Tuesday.

IPL 2020, MI vs SRH: Rohit Sharma back as Mumbai Indians captain after missing four games  


Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): David Warner(c), Wriddhiman Saha(w), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

The big question on everyone's mind: will Mumbai Indians play Rohit Sharma tonight? Is Rohit Sharma fit? Will he be available for the first qualifier against Delhi? Mumbai Indians became the first team to qualify for the last four after Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders last week.

Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have qualified as well, leaving Hyderabad and Kolkata in a shoot-out for the fourth spot. Sunrisers wins vs table-topper Mumbai tonight, it reaches the knockouts on Net Run Rate (NRR). If Sunrisers Hyderabad loses, Kolkata Knight Riders goes through. Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals will lock horns in Qualifier 1 in Dubai on  Thursday, November 5.

For the first time, three teams have been eliminated with 12 points which makes the last encounter of the league stage a knockout fixture for Sunrisers Hyderabad. Read the preview here - READ


IPL 2020 playoffs race updates: Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals qualify for last four  

IPL 2020 Points Table Today

Mumbai Indians (Q)139418+1.296
Delhi Capitals (Q)148616-0.109
Royal Challengers Bangalore (Q)147714-0.172
Kolkata Knight Riders147714-0.214
Sunrisers Hyderabad136712+0.555
Kings XI Punjab146812-0.162
Chennai Super Kings (X)146812-0.455
Rajasthan Royals (X)146812-0.569


LISTEN IN | In Episode 07 of our IPL special podcast, Shayan Acharya, Wriddhaayan Bhattacharyya and Vijay Lokapally discuss the biggest talking points surrounding the Indian squads that will tour Australia later this year and what Chennai Super Kings' exit from the IPL this season means for the side.


Mumbai Indians Predicted XI

1. Rohit Sharma (C)

2. Quinton de Kock (Overseas/Wk)

3. Suryakumar Yadav

4. Ishan Kishan

5. Hardik Pandya

6. Krunal Pandya

7. Kieron Pollard (Overseas)

8. Nathan Coulter-Nile (Overseas)

9. Rahul Chahar

10. Trent Boult (Overseas)

11. Jasprit Bumrah

Follow our special interview series - Tissot presents Sportstar Extras T20 Time.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Predicted XI

1. David Warner (C/Overseas)

2. Jonny Bairstow (Overseas)

3. Wriddhiman Saha (Wk)

4. Manish Pandey

5. Virat Singh

6. Jason Holder (Overseas)

7. Vijay Shankar

8. Rashid Khan (Overseas)

9. T Natarajan

10. Sandeep Sharma

11. Khaleel Ahmed


KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab): 670 runs

Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals): 25 wickets

Read:  IPL 2020 Purple Cap Live Updates: Rabada retains top spot

Read: IPL 2020 Orange Cap holder LIVE: KL Rahul remains top

Head-to-head: (15 matches - SRH 7 | MI 8)

The two teams have faced each other 15 times in the IPL so far. MI has won eight times and SRH, seven.

KEY STAT: The last five games in Sharjah have been won by chasing teams.

Last encounter: Mumbai Indians 208/5 (Quinton de Kock 67 (39), Hardik Pandya 28 (19), Kieron Pollard 25 (13), Krunal Pandya 20 (4); Sandeep Sharma 2/41, Siddarth Kaul 2/64 beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 174/7 (David Warner 60 (44). J Bairstow 25 (15); Trent Boult 2/28, James Pattinson 2/29 and Jasprit Bumrah 2/41 by 34 runs

IPL 2020 Form guide: (last 5 matches | win:loss)

SRH- Sunrisers Hyderabad heads into this must-win game on the back of two straight wins. It has won three of its last five matches. (3:2)

MI- Mumbai Indians has also won three of its last five matches.  (3:2)

Top performers so far - For Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians

David Warner's Sunrisers Hyderabad :

Top run-scorersTop wicket-takers
David Warner (444)Rashid Khan (18)
Manish Pandey (380)T. Natarajan (14)
Jonny Bairstow (345)Sandeep Sharma (10)

Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians :

Top-scorersTop wicket-takers
Quinton de Kock (418)Jasprit Bumrah (23)
Ishan Kishan (362)Trent Boult  (20)
Suryakumar Yadav (374)Rahul Chahar (15)


- Rohit Sharma’s medical report stated that “he could be in danger of injuring himself again,” India head coach Ravi Shastri has revealed. Rohit was left out of all three squads for India's tour to Australia later this month. The tour of Australia comprises three T20Is, three ODIs and four Tests. The series is scheduled to start on November 27. In Rohit's absence, KL Rahul has been made the vice-captain. Read the full Shastri interview here - READ

- A 32-man strong squad will leave on a three-month long tour of Australia right after the IPL final on November 10. Here's what Cheteshwar Pujara, architect of India's historic Test series win in 2018-19, had to say about the upcoming challenge Down Under - READ

- In an interview, the ever-smiling Kane Williamson talks about the return of cricket, lending his expertise to Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner, playing the IPL in the middle of a pandemic, and more - READ

- Jasprit Bumrah, Mumbai Indians' star pacer, says he tries to remain calm and stick to the basics when the pressure gets to him - READ

- The in-form Mumbai Indians batsman Suryakumar Yadav opened up on his transformation as a person and as a player in this interview from last December - READ

- In a chat with Sportstar from Dubai, Sunrisers Hyderabad head coach Trevor Bayliss talks about his team's set-up, grooming the youngsters and drawing from the experience of Kane Williamson and David Warner - READ

- Sportstar picks five former India players who would have easily found a place in the IPL - READ

- Former India captain and national selector Dilip Vengsarkar spoke to Sportstar on various aspects of his career - READ


Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Wriddhiman Saha, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Abhishek Sharma, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan, Jonny Bairstow, Mohammad Nabi, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Bavanaka Sandeep, Billy Stanlake, Fabian Allen, Virat Singh, Basil Thampi, Khaleel Ahmed, Sanjay Yadav, Priyam Garg, Prithvi Raj Yarra

Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma (c), Dhawal Kulkarni, James Pattinson, Aditya Tare, Mitchell McClenaghan, Chris Lynn, Hardik Pandya, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai



The Indian Premier League match Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians will be broadcast live on the Star Sports Network. Live streaming will also be available on the Hotstar app or website exclusively for VIP and Premium users.`