Kings XI Punjab: Not a pretty record so far!

Out of eight IPL seasons, Kings XI Punjab has come close to winning the title only once.

A batsman for King's XI Punjab last year, Virender Sehwag is the team's mentor now.   -  Vivek Bendre

Out of eight IPL seasons, Kings XI Punjab has come close to winning the title only once. The team’s overall performance in the league has remained uninspiring.

READ: >Miller: KXIP captaincy no pressure but opportunity

On paper, KXIP has match-winners. Ahead of IPL 2016, David Miller was appointed the team’s new captain. Former swashbuckling Indian opener, Virender Sehwag, was named the mentor. Along with Sehwag and Sanjay Bangar (who has been a revelation as KXIP’s coach), the side has Joe Dawes and R. Sridhar as its bowling and fielding coach, respectively.

Out of the 22, KXIP retained 14 of its players. With the experience of Shaun Marsh and Murali Vijay at the top and the presence of Miller, Glenn Maxwell, Manan Vohra and Wriddhiman Saha, KXIP’s batting line-up appears strong.

Gurkeerat Singh, Farhaan Behardien, Axar Patel and Rishi Dhawan provide the team plenty of all-round options.

The Punjab team also exhibits a dynamic bowling line-up. Mitchell Johnson will once again lead the pace attack. Moreover, Kyle Abbott and Mohit Sharma add weight to KXIP’s bowling options.

Mohit surprised everyone when he was bought for Rs. 6,50,00,000 by KXIP. However, Mohit’s past record with Chennai Super Kings, his ability to bowl good line and length deliveries, showcases why he is crucial in KXIP’s title bid.

KXIP also has Sandeep Sharma and Shardul Thakur, who have done pretty well in the domestic season to make the selectors notice them.

A lot will be expected of Armaan Jaffer, who has stolen the limelight in recent times. His domestic success and Under-19 World Cup outing, makes him one of the rising stars of Indian cricket.

K. C. Cariappa, who created much hype last year for being a mysterious buy, will want to prove his mettle in his new team.

Despite having a robust squad, inconsistency has been the persistent problem with KXIP. With Sehwag as the mentor, it will be interesting to see how the Preity Zinta co-owned side will fare under its new captain Miller.

Squad: David Miller (capt.), Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Manan Vohra, Murali Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Johnson, Wriddhiman Saha, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Kyle Abbott, KC Cariappa, Marcus Stoinis, Farhaan Behardien, Pradeep Sahu, Armaan Jaffer, Swapnil Singh.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :