It is official. Delhi batsman, Shikhar Dhawan, will return to Delhi Daredevils in the 2019 edition of the Indian Premier League.

Sunrises Hyderabad has traded Dhawan to Daredevils for Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem and Abhishek Sharma, the franchise, on Monday, confirmed the development.

Dhawan featured for the Daredevils in the maiden IPL campaign, scoring 340 runs in 14 matches.

"It is with a heavy heart to announce that one of our long standing players Shikhar Dhawan will be moving to another franchise in 2019. The Sunrisers were delighted to pick up Shikhar in the auction after using one of its RTM (right to match) cards earlier in the year," the franchise stated.

It also admitted that such a step had to be taken since Dhawan was 'unhappy' with the financial deal.

"Unfortunately it has become apparent that the player has been unsettled ever since with the amount he was bought for in the auction, which unfortunately we cannot rectify due to IPL rules.

The franchise has made the decision to trade Dhawan as it feel it is best for both parties," the franchise said in a statement. "The Sunrisers values the great contribution that Shikhar has made over the years and saddened that due to financial reasons he feels it’s time to move on. We wish him and his family all the best," the franchise added.

Dhawan was among the batting mainstay for the SRH, and now by parting ways with him, the Hyderabad franchise hopes to make the most of it by bringing in young guns Shankar and Abhishek.