Jhulan Goswami returns for T20 tri-series

Harmanpreet Kaur will take over captaincy responsibilities from Mithali Raj for the Twenty20 tri-series in Mumbai.

Jhulan Goswami missed the ongoing 50-over bilateral series against Australia due to injury.   -  G. P. Sampath Kumar

Harmanpreet Kaur will take over the responsibility of captaincy from Mithali Raj for the Twenty20 tri-series later this month, with opening batsman Smriti Mandhana serving as her deputy. In a squad of 15 announced for the tourney that also involves Australia and England, fast bowler Sukanya Parida and three of India’s 2017 Women’s World Cup participants — Poonam Raut, Sushma Verma and Rajeshwari Gayakwad — have been omitted.

Bowling stalwart Jhulan Goswami makes a return.

Read: India women eye series-levelling win against Australia

Off-spinner Anuja Patil, a Twenty20 specialist, and wicket-keeper Tanuja Bhatia have been included in the squad. Bhatia replaces Sushma.

The tri-series is scheduled to be played from March 22 till March 31; all matches will be played in Mumbai. As warm-up for the tourney, an India ‘A’ women’s team will play two Twenty20s against the visiting English side, the squad for which has also been named. The Australian team is already engaged in a 50-over bilateral series with India in Vadodara.

  • India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Rumeli Dhar, Mona Meshram.
  • India A: S. Meghna (c), Vanitha VR, D. Hemlatha, Monika Das, Tarannum Pathan, Priyanka Priyadarshini, Arundhati Reddy, R. Kalpana (wk), Radha Yadav, Kavita Patil, Shanti Kumari, Preeti Bose, Sheral Rozario, Harleen Deol