Kerala Cricket Association punishes rebellious players

The State association felt the players were endangering harmony and stability of the team by rebelling against the captain Sachin Baby.

Kerala’s Rohan Prem (centre) and Sandeep Warrier (right) have been punished by the State cricket association for their transgressions.   -  P. K. Ajith Kumar

Thirteen players who had rebelled against Sachin Baby, Kerala’s Ranji Trophy team captain, have been handed punishments by the Kerala Cricket Association.

After having held a meeting with the players on August 11, the association had issued show-cause notices to them two days later. Now, it has decided to put the players through suspensions and penalties for their transgressions. The decision was taken based upon the recommendation at a meeting of the association’s office-bearers on Thursday, according to a statement issued by Sreejith V. Nair, the association secretary. The association felt the players were endangering harmony and stability of the team by their actions.

Suspensions and penalties

Accordingly, five players — V.G. Raiphy, Rohan Prem, Sandeep S. Warrier, K. M. Asif and Mohammed Azharuddin — have been suspended from the next three BCCI one-day matches and handed a penalty equivalent to three BCCI match fees for one-dayers.

The eight other players who had affixed their signature in the letter to the association — Sanju V. Samson, V. A. Jagadeesh, Salman Nazir, Sijomon Joseph, K. C. Akshay, S. L. Abhishek Mohan and Fabid Farook Ahmed — have been punished with a penalty equivalent to the match fees of three BCCI one-day matches.

The players, according to the statement, have been asked to remit the penalties charged against them to the Chief Minister’s Distress Relief Fund on or before September 15 and submit a proof of remittance. Nair said it has also been decided to warn the players from indulging in such activities in future and that any repetition of similar offences will invite severe action.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :