KPL: Mysuru Warriors wins rain-curtailed game

Bengaluru Blasters crashes to a 38-run defeat in an eight-over contest.

Arjun Hoysala scored a brisk 31.   -  Sampath Kumar G. P.

A poor batting display from Bengaluru Blasters saw the home side crash to a 38-run defeat, against Mysuru Warriors, in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) here on Saturday.

The fixture started late, due to incessant showers, and was reduced to an eight-over affair. Bengaluru was set a target of 85, but a top-order collapse did the team in. Opener and captain R. Samarth fell for a duck in the very first over, when he spooned a catch to square-leg off pacer S. L. Akshay. Rajoo Bhatkal proved to be a disaster, barely making contact during the course of his six-ball stay. When he did get bat to ball, he skied a sitter to Karun Nair at mid-off.

Shishir Bhavane was removed soon after, leaving the unit reeling at eight for three in 2.3 overs. With the required rate spiralling out of control, Bengaluru gave in and finished on a disappointing 46 for six. For Mysuru, the fast bowling duo of Akshay (three for six) and Vyshak Vijay Kumar (two for 13) stood out.

Hoysala sizzles

After being put in to bat, Mysuru recorded a competitive 84 for five. Opener Arjun Hoysala provided the early momentum, making a brisk 18-ball 31. The southpaw got going in the fourth over - bowled by left-arm spinner Mitrakanth Yadav - going down on his knees to smash two sweep sixes. Big things were expected from his partner, Karun Nair, but the star player was not in his element. Nair (14, 14b) was cleaned up by off-spinner Manjesh Reddy. Two-drop S.P. Manjunath (18, 7b, 1x6, 2x4) swung for the fences, and struck big.

Bengaluru speedster Prasidh Krishna was the pick of the bowlers, showcasing good pace and movement. In the final over of the essay, Krishna relied on the slower ones to stifle the scoring rate.

The scores
  • Mysuru Warriors 84 for five in 8 overs (Arjun Hoysala 31, Prasidh Krishna two for 12) bt Bengaluru Blasters 46 for six in 8 overs (S.L. Akshay three for six, Vyshak Vijay Kumar two for 13).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :