IND-A vs AUS-A: India-A reaches 223/3 at stumps on day two

Mitchell Marsh of Australia-A in action against India-A in the second unofficial Test match at Alur in Bengaluru on Saturday.   -  Sudhakara Jain

India-A wrested control of the 2nd unofficial Test against Australia-A at the end of day two, trailing the visitor's first-innings score (346) by just 123 runs having moved to 223/3. Join us for what is likely to be an absorbing third day.


4:33 pm: At stumps on day two, India-A reaches 223/3. Shubman Gill has joined skipper Shreyas Iyer, who is batting on 30.

3:57 pm: 200 up for India A in the 61st over, Shreyas Iyer and Ankeet Bawane in the middle, looking to rebuild after the fall of Easwaran and Samarth.

3:18 pm: Marnus Labuschagne effects a direct hit from the cover region to catch Easwaran just short of his crease. He departs for 86, and India A is now 176 for the loss of two quick wickets.

3:11 pm: R Samarth departs for 83, Agar getting the breakthrough. India A 174/1.

2:40 pm: A. R. Easwaran upping the ante post tea. An exquisite sweep shot off Head followed by drive down the ground, as India A reaches 140/0.

Our reporter in Alur, Ayan Acharya, says: The visitor continues to deploy attacking fields, Easwaran and Samarth, meanwhile, continue scoring runs.

2:14 pm: At Tea on day two, India-A has reached 124/0, trailing Australia-A by 222 runs in the first innings. R. Samarth is batting on 62, A. R. Easwaran is batting on 57, and together, they have given India a solid start.

1:14 pm: When the ball is pitched up and outside off, Samarth has no trouble rocking forward and playing a cover drive. Easwaran has cashed in on anything that was wide and short. Despite Australia's positive tactics, India A has reached 76/0, Samarth 41 and Easwaran 30.

1:07 pm:

12:34 pm: R. Samarth is unsettled by the short length here, pretty smooth on the drive when the ball's pitched up. India A 44/0.

12:26 pm: Doggett is going to bowl short. With that field (one slip, short leg and leg gully), length is predictable. Agar, meanwhile, bowling full with silly point.

12:15 pm: A short-leg, slip and leg-gully for Samarth. Doggett bowling short this over as Samarth misjudges one and nearly holes out to the man at short-leg! India A 31/0.

11:32 am: Lunch has been taken with 22 on the board, Samarth and Easwaran batting on 11.

11:19 am: Doggett trying to bowl full, with men in catching positions. The ploy is to make the Indian batters drive. But he strays, digs it short, slightly wide and Easwaran makes him pay with a cracking square cut. India A 16/0.

11:03 am: Three slips and a gully greet the Indian openers. Brendan Doggett to share the new ball with Chris Tremain. Lots of chatter from the Australian slip-cordon.

10:56 am:

10:47 am: Kuldeep Yadav picks up a five-for as Australia A ends its first innings on 346, Mitchell Marsh unbeaten on 113.

10:39 am: GONE! Kuldeep gets another one as Mitchell Swepson departs for 4. Australia A 328/9.

10:23 am: WICKET! Chris Tremain departs, Kuldeep Yadav bowling him through the gate. Aus A 322/8.

10:17 am: 100 for Mitchell Marsh! Following his twin failures in Bengaluru, this has been a superb comeback from Marsh - a captain's innings. He has been solid in defence and has driven with aplomb. Aus A 319/7.

9:58 am: Mitchell Marsh into the nineties with a delightful straight drive off Gurbani.

9:56am: Australia A reaches 300 courtesy a lofted hit over mid-off from Chris Tremain.

9:40 am: Nadeem strikes early on day two as Neser departs for 44 - the ball flying off his edge to Shreyas Iyer in the slips. The Australia-A scoreboard reads 290/7.

9:30 am: Rajneesh Gurbani starts the proceedings on day two.

9:03 am:

8:56 am:

8:46 am:


  • Recapping the story so far in a nutshell,
  • Here is the detailed Day One report. (READ)
  • Also, Sportstar takes a look at the fairytale rise of Australia ‘A’ pacer Brendan Doggett onto the scene, as he kept fighting against adversities. (READ)
  • Meanwhile, on Saturday, the Bangalore traffic snarl  caught the players and reporters by surprise when the morning session on day one of the second unofficial Test between India A and Australia A in Alur, was extended by half—an—hour after the food failed to arrive on time. (READ)


India A : Ravikumar Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shreyas Iyer(c), Ankit Bawne, Srikar Bharat(w), Krishnappa Gowtham, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Ankit Rajpoot, Shubman Gill, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rajneesh Gurbani

Australia A : Usman Khawaja, Kurtis Patterson, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Marsh(c), Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey(w), Michael Neser, Chris Tremain, Brendan Doggett, Jon Holland, Ashton Agar, Matt Renshaw, Joel Paris, Mitchell Swepson