Morgan has no complaints about overturned Maxwell decision

The third umpire overturned the on-field call of out when Jason Roy appeared to catch Glenn Maxwell, a decision Eoin Morgan understood.

England's Jason Roy reacts to his 'catch' of Glenn Maxwell being overturned   -  Getty Images

England captain Eoin Morgan had no complaints about the third umpire overruling the on-field decision and giving Glenn Maxwell not out when Jason Roy appeared to have caught him.

A soft signal of out was given against Maxwell, who scooped Adil Rashid to Roy at long-off on 59 during Australia's five-wicket victory in the second Twenty20 international in Hobart, but replays appeared to show the ball hitting the ground as the England opener stooped for a low catch.

The on-field call was reversed and although Morgan agreed with the initial decision, he admitted he could see why it had been changed.

He said: "Jason said it was out. I trust the player's call and I agreed with the on-field umpire at the time, but I can understand how it got overturned.

"Sometimes you don't get those decisions going your way. There were two dropped catches, officially. My opinion doesn't really matter but we always know TV makes it look worse than it is."

David Willey removed David Warner (4), Chris Lynn (0) and Travis Head (6) before the hosts surpassed their target of 156 with nine balls to spare, and Morgan felt England's performance after being sent in to bat first left them in a difficult spot.

"The batting stands out like a sore thumb. It was a really bad day for us with the bat. We were looking at 170-180 plus but we were 25 short of par," he said.

Maxwell got Australia over the line with an unbeaten 103 – his second T20I hundred – and felt fortunate not to have been given out beforehand, though he hinted at some sympathy for Roy.

"I definitely didn't have a clear view, it's just one of those where you never know what it might look like when they send it up to the third umpire," said Maxwell.

"As a fielder you think you catch it. The rule states if the ball touches any part of the ground [it's not out] and it looked like it was touching part of the ground when it came up on the big screen.

"The umpires told us what was going on and ruled in my favour, luckily."

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :