Mukund recalled for Bangladesh Test; Parthiv excluded

Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Jayant Yadav, Hardik Pandya and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha return to the side after recovering from the injuries they sustained during the India-England Test series.

Abhinav Mukund scored 849 runs at an average of 65.3 in the 2016-17 Ranji season.   -  R. V. Moorthy

The National selectors waited more than six hours before the meeting to pick the Indian team for the Test against Bangladesh obtained the green signal from the Committee of Administrators (COA) appointed by the Supreme Court.

Abhinav Mukund returned to the Test squad after five years but not before much drama left Amitabh Chaudhary, the Board's joint-secretary, being declared ineligible to convene the meeting.

READ: >Consistency earns Siraj an India 'A' spot

The selectors picked a 16-member squad with a view of grooming Hardik Pandya as an all-rounder. Abhinav Mukund found his place on merit of scoring consistently in domestic cricket while Wriddhiman Saha replaces Parthiv Patel as the best wicketkeeper-batsman in the country.

Confusion prevailed at the venue of the meeting even as the Board's General Manager (Cricket Operations) M.V. Sridhar looked to get things going. He was stopped in his tracks by a message from the COA which put the Board's CEO Rahul Johri as the convenor of the meeting through a video conference from Mumbai.

READ: >Gowtham delighted about India 'A' call up

It is learnt that even as Johri sought guidance, one of the COA members observed that the said selection meeting did not need its (COA) intervention. Johri finally carried on with the job entrusted to him.

The Court had in its ruling stated that, “Mr. Vinod Rai shall be the Chairman of the Committee of Administrators. The CEO. of BCCI. shall report to the Committee of Administrators and the Administrators shall supervise the management of BCCI.”

The Court had also ruled that, “We are of the opinion that three persons, one from the Committee of Administrators and two from the BCCI. shall attend the ICC meeting so that there will be objectivity and transparency. For the aforesaid purpose, we nominate, Mr. Amitabh Choudhary, Joint Secretary, and Mr. Anirudh Chaudhry, Treasurer, B.C.C.I. and Mr. Vikram Limaye, Managing Director and CEO, IDFC Ltd.”

It remains to be seen if Chaudhary and Chowdhry take the flight to Dubai for the ICC meeting.

Team for Test match : Virat Kohli (Captain), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Abhinav Mukund and Hardik Pandya.

India ‘A’ for the three practice game against Australia:-

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Akhil Herwadkar, Priyank Kirit Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, Krishnappa Gowtham, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Ashok Dinda, Mohammed Siraj, Rahul Singh and Baba Indrajith.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :