Raina to lead UP in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Suresh Raina has been named Uttar Pradesh's captain for the Vijay Hazare Trophy while India U-19 starlet Shivam Mavi has also been named in the squad.

Suresh Raina-led Uttar Pradesh will face Saurashtra in its season opener.   -  AFP

Suresh Raina will lead Uttar Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, which begins next week. The Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA), on Saturday, named a 16-member squad, which also features Shivam Mavi and Ankit Rajpoot.

This is a big opportunity for Mavi to break into the senior team after proving his mettle in the U-19 side and also at Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League.

The team will be heavily banking on Raina, who has been left out of the Indian team for the ongoing Asia Cup. The seasoned campaigner has been training with the team for the last few days and is looking forward to the important season.

Rinku Singh, who was roped in by the Knight Riders in the last edition of the IPL, has also been included in the squad.

Placed in Elite Group B, Uttar Pradesh will lock horns with Saurashtra at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi in its season opener.

The squad: Suresh Raina (captain), Akshdeep Nath, Shivam Chaudhary, Umang Sharma, Rinku Singh, Priyam Garg, Samarth Singh, Upendra Yadav, Abhishek Goswami, Saurabh Kumar, Shiva Singh, Ankit Rajpoot, Shivam Mavi, Amit Mishra, Yash Dalal, Mohsin Khan.

Coach: Mansur Ali

Batting coach: Parvinder Singh

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :