Rajitha named in Sri Lanka's T20 squad

Seamer Kasun Rajitha has been recalled to Sri Lanka's T20 squad for the Australia series. Dinesh Chandimal has been named captain in the absence of injured skipper Angelo Mathews

kasunrajitha - CROPPED

Sri Lanka's Kasun Rajitha is making a comeback to the Sri Lanka squad.

Sri Lanka has recalled seamer Kasun Rajitha to its squad for the forthcoming T20 International double-header against Australia, while Danushka Gunathilaka is among the most notable absentees.

Thisara Perera, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera and Sachithra Senanayake have also been included, with Niroshan Dickwella and Ramith Rambukwella joining Gunathilaka in failing to make the cut.

Dinesh Chandimal has been named captain in the absence of injured skipper Angelo Mathews, while Tillakaratne Dilshan is set for his final appearance in international cricket.

Sri Lanka is seeking a return to winning ways after suffering a 4-1 defeat in the One-Day International series between the sides.

The host had previously whitewashed Australia in a three-match Test series.

The opening T20 takes place in Pallekele on Tuesday.

Sri Lanka T20 squad in full: Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Milinda Siriwardana, Kusal Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sachithra Senanayaka, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dasun Shanaka.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos