Ramiz Raja sacked as PCB chairman, Najam Sethi takes charge

Former PCB chief Najam Sethi is set to return as the head of a 14-member committee that will also include former national team skippers Shahid Afridi and Sana Mir.

Published : Dec 21, 2022 23:56 IST , Karachi

Ramiz Raja has been sacked as the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman.
Ramiz Raja has been sacked as the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman. | Photo Credit: REUTERS

Ramiz Raja has been sacked as the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman. | Photo Credit: REUTERS

Former cricketer Ramiz Raja has been removed as chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) by the country’s government, which has appointed a 14-member committee, headed by Najam Sethi, to run the affairs of the game for the next four months.

The Pakistan government, through a notification late on Wednesday, removed Raja following the team’s 3-0 whitewash by England in the Test series.

The notification, issued by Pakistan Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif, has to be approved by the federal cabinet, which is just a formality.

The developments on Wednesday confirmed speculation that Sharif, who is the patron-in-chief of the PCB, had decided to appoint Sethi as the new chairman of the country’s cricket body.

Raja served as PCB chairman for 15 months after he was appointed by former premier Imran Khan to head the board in September 2021.

Raja had taken over as the 36th chairman of the PCB after his predecessor Ehsan Mani had stepped down from the post. He was the fourth former cricketer to be appointed to the post after Ijaz Butt (2008-11), Javed Burki (1994-95) and Abdul Hafeez Kardar (1972-77).

Sethi was the chairman and CEO of the PCB between 2013-2018 and resigned soon after Imran and his party won the 2018 general elections.

There was, however, no official word from the PCB or Raja on the latest developments days before the Test series against New Zealand, beginning in Karachi on December 26.

The notification states that the PM has “reviewed” the 2014 constitution of the PCB and abolished the existing constitution made in 2019.

As per the notification, Sethi will head the management committee that includes former Pakistan players Shahid Afridi, Haroon Rasheed, Shafqat Rana, and former women’s team captain Sana Mir.

Also Read | Shivnarine Chanderpaul to step down as USA senior Women’s, U19 coach after 2023 U19 ICC World Cup

The rest of the committee comprises of former members of the governing board, which was dissolved in 2019.

The notification also states that Sharif’s order had been duly vetted by the Law and Justice Division and now needs to be approved by the federal cabinet, which will be done on Thursday.

The notification was issued a few hours after the PCB announced the Test squad for the series against New Zealand, which is touring Pakistan after 19 years.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment