Ranji Trophy: Ravi Kiran's 4-for sets up Hyderabad's 10-wicket win

Ravi Kiran was ably supported by Tanay Thyagarajan, who took three for 9 in 11 overs.

Ravi Kiran in action against Himachal Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy match in Hyderabad on Saturday.   -  V. V. Subrahmanyam

A splendid spell of fast bowling by the lanky Ravi Kiran, who cleaned up the top-order, literally, with a three-wicket burst in the first half-an-hour, was the decisive factor as Hyderabad notched up an emphatic, 10-wicket win over Himachal Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy Group-B match at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium here on Saturday.

Ravi Kiran dismissed captain Prashant Chopra, wicketkeeper-batsman Ankush Bains and Nikhil Gangta - all beaten by sheer pace and late movement. A spell from which Himachal never really recovered.

As it happened

At the other end, pacer Mohammad Mudassir came up with another beauty to baffle opener Priyanshu Khanduri to leave Himachal in dire straits at 42 for four in 14.3 overs.

Pacer Ravi Teja also bowled well but was unlucky. First, his joy of earning an lbw verdict against Khanduri turned sour when the third umpire ruled it a no-ball in the ninth over. Later, he had the misfortune of seeing Rishi Dhawan bowled all ends up of another no-ball at 49 for four!

The stage was set for the left-arm spinner Tanay Thyagarajan and he didn’t disappoint - bowling another impressive spell on a pitch which was never a turner even on the final day to pick up a three-wicket haul.

Chasing a modest target, openers Tanmay Agarwal and captain P. Akshath Reddy stayed unbeaten to reach the target without losing any wicket to pick the bonus point too.

Hyderabad has 12 points now from four games while, Himachal two from three matches.

The scores

Himachal Pradesh 1st innings: 351

Hyderabad 1st innings: 352

Himachal Pradesh 2nd innings: Priyanshu Khanduri b Mudassir 15, Prashant Chopra b Ravi Kiran 5, Ankush Bains b Ravi Kiran 0, Nikhil Gangta b Ravi Kiran 2, Sumeet Verma c Ravi Teja b Thyagarajan 19, Rishi Dhawan lbw b Ravi Kiran 12, Ekant Sen c Mehdi b Thyagarajan 0, Mayank Dagar c Sandeep b Ravi Teja 12, Pankaj Jaiswal c Tanmay b Thyagarajan 8, Gurvinder Singh not out 9, Arpit Guleria c Thyagarajan b Mehdi 1

Extras: (lb-6, nb-8) 14

Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-9, 3-15, 4-42, 5-66, 6-66, 7-68, 8-87, 9-87, 10-97

Total: (all out in 45.2 overs) 97

Hyderabad bowling: Ravi Kiran 14-2-34-4, Mohammad Mudassir 8-3-14-1, Ravi Teja 9-0-34-1, Tanay Thyagarajan 11-4-9-3, Mehdi Hasan 3.2-3-0-1

Hyderabad 2nd innings: Tanmay Agarwal not out 48, P. Akshath Reddy not out 44.

Extras: (b-5) 5

Total: (for no loss in 28.2 overs) 97

Himachal Pradesh bowling: Arpit Guleria 7-3-11-0, Pankaj Jaiswal 3-0-23-0, Prashant Chopra 8.2-0-31-0, Mayank Dagar 10-4-27-0

Result: Hyderabad won by 10 wickets.

Man of the match: Ravi Kiran

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :