Shashank Manohar resigns as BCCI president

Manohar had taken over as the BCCI head in October 2015 after the demise of Jagmohan Dalmiya in September.

This was Shashank's second stint as the head of BCCI.   -  PTI

Shashank Manohar has resigned as the Board of Control for Cricket in India president and the International Cricket Council chairman on Tuesday. The move has come in the anticipation that Manohar would be re-nominated as the ICC chief during the governing body’s annual board meeting next month.

When Manohar took over as the BCCI president for a second term last October, days after the demise of then president Jagmohan Dalmiya, he was also designated as the ICC chairman. However, with the ICC set to revert to its old rule of not allowing its chief to hold a post in his home board, Manohar has stepped down.

The deadline for filing the nomination for the ICC chief’s post is May 23. BCCI will have to propose Manohar as the ICC candidate for the top job, with two other full members seconding the proposal.

Manohar’s resignation leaves BCCI a headless body for the second time in less than a year. According to its controversial rulebook, which has been under the scanner of the apex court, secretary Anurag Thakur will now have to call a Special General Body Meeting within two weeks to elect a new president.

The new president, who will have to be nominated by at least one of the six full members from the East Zone, will be in charge till the 2017 AGM. An aspiring candidate should have attended at least two AGMs and have held the post of an office-bearer or vice-president in the past.

Rajeev Shukla and Anurag Thakur, the IPL chairman and BCCI secretary respectively, are frontrunners to occupy the vacant chair, with Ajay Shirke, former treasurer, and current vice-president G. Gangaraju also being in contention.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :