South Africa to test unbeaten home record vs Pakistan & Sri Lanka

Neither Pakistan nor Sri Lanka have won a Test series in South Africa, but they will each look to change that in 2018-19.

South Africa celebrate against Australia   -  Getty Images

South Africa will play Test series' with Pakistan and Sri Lanka as part of their home international schedule for 2018-19.

The Proteas proved formidable on home soil against India and Australia recently, claiming respective 2-1 and 3-1 victories, though the latter series was marred by a ball-tampering scandal that led to Australia captain Steve Smith, vice-captain David Warner and Cameron Bancroft receiving bans.

And they will pit themselves against two subcontinental sides in Pakistan and Sri Lanka, with neighbours Zimbabwe first to tour the country in 2018 for three one-day internationals and three Twenty20s in September and October.

Pakistan then travel to South Africa, with the opening Test of a three-match series beginning on December 26. 

That series is followed by five ODIs and three T20s before Sri Lanka visit in February for two Tests, five ODIs and three T20s.

Neither Pakistan nor Sri Lanka have won a Test series in South Africa.




Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos