Syed Kirmani nominated for Lifetime Achievement Award

Former India wicketkeeper Syed Kirmani, a vital member of the Indian team in the 1970s and 1980s, was nominated for this year's Col. C. K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, according to a release from the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Syed Kirmani played 88 Tests and 46 ODIs for India.   -  Bijoy Ghosh

Syed Kirmani, the former India wicketkeeper, has been nominated for the Col. C. L. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, according to a press release from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The Awards Committee, consisting of BCCI President Shashank Manohar, Secretary Anurag Thakurk, and N. Ram, former Editor-in-Chief, The Hindu, met at the board's headquarters in Mumbai, and came up with Kirmani's nomination unanimously.

The BCCI celebrates the birth centenary of Col. Cottari Kanakaiya Nayudu, the country’s first Test captain, by instituting an annual Lifetime Achievement Award, to honour individuals for their unparalleled contribution to Indian cricket, on and off the field. The Award comprises a trophy, citation and a cheque for Rs. 25 lakhs.

Kirmani, made his Test debut in 1976 against New Zealand, and soon got accustomed to keeping wickets to India’s famous spin quartet — Bishen Bedi, Erapalli Prasanna, Bhagwath Chandrasekhar, and Srinivas Venkataraghavan. Having started his career as an understudy to Farokh Engineer, Kirmani took over the responsibility and added his charm to the role in a decade-long career. It was thanks to his tenacious approach that he scored two Test centuries in the lower order.

Against England in 1981-82, he did not concede a single bye in three consecutive Tests. Named the best 'keeper in the 1983 World Cup, it was Kirmani who shared an unbeaten 126 runs partnership with Kapil Dev against Zimbabwe as the Indian captain went on to register one of India’s greatest wins at Tunbridge Wells.

Kirmani also provided solid support to Sunil Gavaskar in the unbroken 143-run stand for the ninth wicket as Gavaskar made 236 not out, the then top score by an Indian, against in the sixth Test against West Indies in Chennai (then known as Madras). The Indian government awarded him the Padma Shri in 1982.

He was the vice-president of Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) and also the chairman of the national selection committee.


1994 – Lala Amarnath

1995 – Syed Mushtaq Ali

1996 – Capt. Vijay Hazare

1997 – K. N. Prabhu

1998 – P. R. Umrigar

1999 – Col. Hemachandra Adhikari

2000 – Subhash Gupte

2001 – Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi

2002 – Bhausaheb Nimbalkar

2003 – Chandrakant Borde

2004 – B.S. Bedi, B. Chandrasekhar, E. A. S. Prasanna, S. Venkataraghvan

2007 – Nariman Contractor

2008 – Gundappa Viswanath

2009 – Mohinder Amarnath

2010 – Salim Durani

2011 – Ajit Wadekar

2012 – Sunil Gavaskar

2013 – Kapil Dev

2014 – Dilip Vengsarkar

  Dugout videos