Karnataka beat Hyderabad by 14 runs in a fourth round South zone match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali inter-State T20 zonal league here. Both teams are now tied atop the points table with 12 points each.

Left-arm pacer Sreenath Aravind picked up three for 25 to restrict Hyderabad to 134 for six in its pursuit of 149. Akshath Reddy top-scored for Hyderabad with a 32-ball 42 that included four fours, and two sixes, all hit in the first four overs. He has thousand-plus runs in 51 T20 matches now.

He was involved in a 66-run first wicket partnership with Tanmay Agarwal at 7.76 runs an over that ended when the latter pulled against the left-arm spin of Jagadeesha Suchith to be caught at deep square leg. Akshath, later, was out caught at the same position, off a pull, again, off Aravind. Subramaniam Badrinath, unable to help his side home, was unbeaten, with three fours, on 37.

It was remarkable how Akshath liked to cut the ball against spin whenever it was likely - he shuffled his legs apart and let his bat slap the short balls.

Earlier, Karnataka was propelled by Mayank Agarwal's 55-ball 65, who added 63 runs for the fourth wicket partnership with Pavan Deshpande.

In the other match of the day, Goa faltered again, versus Kerala to lose by nine wickets. Basil Thampi's three for 19 helped Kerala dismiss Goa for a mere 86, after which, Vishnu Vinod with his aggressive 13-ball 35 (2x4, 4x6) ensured that the chase wasn't botched up.

His 40-run first wicket stand with Mohammed Azharuddeen (22 n.o.), and the latter's unbroken 47-run second wicket union with Rohan Prem (24 n.o.), clinched it for Kerala. Kerala now has eight points, and Goa, nought.

Tamil Nadu, meanwhile, rode on Vijay Shankar's 49-ball 69 (5x4, 2x6) and beat Andhra by 37 runs to become the third team to get to 12 points. Ricky Bhui's 44-ball 61 (4x4, 3x6) proved insufficient for Andhra. With four points, Andhra is now above Goa in the points table.

The scores (round four): Tamil Nadu 179 for five in 20 overs (R. Sathish 32 n.o., Vijay Shankar 69) bt Andhra 142 for six in 20 overs (Hanuma Vihari 37, Ricky Bhui 61); Toss: Tamil Nadu; Points: Tamil Nadu 4 (12); Andhra 0 (4)

Karnataka 148 for seven in 20 overs (Mayank Agarwal 65, Pavan Deshpande 32, Mehdi Hasan three for 16) bt Hyderabad 134 for six in 20 overs (Akshath Reddy 42, S. Badrinath 37, S. Aravind three for 25); Toss: Karnataka; Points: Karnataka 4 (12); Hyderabad 0 (12)

Goa 86 in 18.4 overs (Basil Thampi three for 19) lost to Kerala 87 for one in 7.5 overs (Vishnu Vinod 35); Toss: Goa: Points: Kerala 4 (8); Goa 0 (0).