Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Goswami stars as Bengal secures all-win record

Shreevats Goswami powered Bengal to a five-wicket win over Jharkhand and emerge zonal toppers with an all-win record.

Shreevats Goswami totalled 202 from four matches with two half-centuries.

Shreevats Goswami totalled 202 from four matches with two half-centuries.   -  Ritu Raj Konwar

Opener Shreevats Goswami's 53-ball 81 enabled Bengal to post a comprehensive five-wicket win over Jharkhand and complete its zonal engagements with an all-win record in four matches of the East Zone T20 league at the Eden Gardens here on Sunday.

Jharkhand scored 177 for six after being asked to bat. Bengal overhauled the target with five balls to spare.

Virat Singh's aggressive approach helped Jharkhand gather 46 runs for the opening stand. Captain Saurabh Tiwary (44 off 31) and Pratyush Singh (39 off 28) formed another useful partnership to add 69 runs for the third wicket before Ashok Dinda had Pratysh caught by Pramod Chandila.

Tiwary's onslaught, including two fours and three sixes, gave Jharkhand a major boost at a crucial stage. He was caught by his opposite number Manoj Tiwary off Kanishk Seth in the 18th over.

Sumit Kumar (18) and Anand Singh (16) gathered some quick runs to take the total past 170. Sumit became Dinda's second victim in the final over.

Goswami played a fine knock, studded with nine hits to the fence and two over it, and added 73 runs for the second wicket with Abhishek Raman (37 off 28) even after Bengal lost Wriddhiman Saha's wicket to Varun Aaron in the second over.

Goswami forged a decisive 71-run partnership with Pramod Chandila (37 not out off 21 including four fours and one six) before getting out in the 18th over. Bengal was 10 runs shy of the target, but eventually achieved it losing one more wicket.

Assam defeated Odisha by six wickets in its last match.

The scores:

Jharkhand 177 for six in 20 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 44, Virat Singh 42, Pratyush Singh 39, Ashok Dinda two for 28) lost to Bengal 178 for five in 19.1 overs (Shreevats Goswami 81, Abhishek Raman 37, Pramod Chandila 37 not out, Varun Aaron two for 41).

Odisha 143 for seven in 20 overs (Biplab Samantray 50, Amit Verma three for 19) lost to Assam 148 for four in 18.3 overs (Pallav Das 51, Amit Verma 31, K.B. Arun Karthick 28 not out, Basant Mohanty two for 17).

Manoj Tiwary to lead East Zone

Manoj Tiwary will lead a 16-member East Zone team in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

Bengal's Pragyan Ojha and Pramod Chandila and Odhisa's Suryakant Pradhan have been placed in the standby list.

Jharkhand's Rajiv Kumar will be the coach of the team.

The team:

Manoj Tiwary (captain), Saurabh Tiwary (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Sreevats Goswami, Ishank Jaggi, K. B. Arun Karthick, Writtick Chatterjee, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ashok Dinda, Pritam Das, Sayan Ghosh, Biplab Samantaray, Dhiraj Singh, Virat Singh, Amit Verma and A. K. Sarkar. Coach: Rajiv Kumar.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :