T20 WC for Blind: Sunil smashes 163 as India beats Australia

Chasing an enormous 272, Aussies were bowled out for 144. Captain Ajay Kumar Reddy picked up two wickets for India while giving away only 11 runs in 3.3 overs.

Indian openers Muhammed Farhan and Sunil R at the Rajagiri College ground in Kochi.   -  Special Arrangement

Indian opener Sunil R was in supreme form as he smashed 163 not out of 72 balls with 29 fours against Australia at Rajagiri College Kochi. India piled up a massive score of 272/0 in 20 overs with Muhammed Farhan hitting 53 of 35 balls before being retired hurt. Iqbal Jafar scored a quick fire 30 of 13 balls. The openers had put a 199-run stand in 15 overs had virtually taken away the game from the Aussies. Chasing this humongous task, Aussies were bowled out for 144. Captain Ajay Kumar Reddy picked up two wickets for India while giving away only 11 runs in 3.3 overs.

After having lost to India at Ahmedabad on Saturday, Sri Lanka bounced back against Nepal at PYC Gymkhana Ground Pune. After winning the toss and electing to bat Sri Lankan Openers Suranga Sampath and Ruwan Wasantha opening stand of 176 crushed all hopes of Nepal before Suranga was retired hurt. Scoring 111 of just 48 balls with 19 fours and a huge six, he received strong support from Ruwan Wasantha who scored 76 runs of 41 balls with eight fours. Sri Lanka ended with a massive 274 / 2 in 20 overs. Nepal bowlers were expensive and could not take any wickets, both wickets were run outs. In reply Nepal paced its innings way below the required run rate. Opener Sunil Thapa Magar scored 38 of 30 balls, whileKritan Shrestha Duwal scored 37 of 47 balls. Nepal ended up with 143/5 losing by 131 runs Suranga Sampath and Kavidu Sahaan Kumara Thoma Dura took one wicket each

In another crucial encounter at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, England beat Bangladesh by 5 wickets. Batting first Bangladesh scored 214/5 against with opener Md Abdul Malek and Tanzjlur Rahman coming in a number three scoring 51 of 26 and 56 of 36 respectively. England wrapped up the match in 18 overs with opener Matthew James Page scoring 54 of 31 balls and Peter Blueitt scoring 68 of 32 balls.

At second match Brabourne Stadium Mumbai today West Indies batting first piled on a mammoth 323/2 in 20 overs. Opener Kevin Andrew Douglas put on 164 in 64 balls with 28 fours Leroy Orion Philips scored 76 of 38 balls with 6 fours to give West Indies a 258 run opening partnership. But with the two openers getting out in quick succession in 16th and 17th overs there was some hope for New Zealand. But Dennal Deboya Shim scored quick 33 in 14 balls and Alvin Andre James scored 11 of 8 balls to finish the innings at 323/ 2. New Zealand started off well with a 48 run opening stand in four overs between BD Wilson and MLK McCaskill 21(12) before McCaskill was run out by Dennal Deboya Shim. BD Wilson fought back with a century and scored 106not out of 75 balls, JH Dunn scored 35 of 23 balls. But their effort was in vain as New Zealand could manage 239/3 in 20 overs.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :