BAN vs ZIM, T20 World Cup: Why was no ball called and Bangladesh asked to bowl final ball again?

Needing five runs to win off the last ball, Blessing Muzarabani was stumped by wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan off Mosaddek Hossain and the Bangladesh players broke into premature celebrations as the delivery was eventually called a no-ball.

Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh celebrates running out Sean Williams of Zimbabwe.

Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh celebrates running out Sean Williams of Zimbabwe. | Photo Credit: Getty Images

Needing five runs to win off the last ball, Blessing Muzarabani was stumped by wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan off Mosaddek Hossain and the Bangladesh players broke into premature celebrations as the delivery was eventually called a no-ball.

In an unprecedented turn of events during the T20 World Cup Super 12 Group 2 match between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe at the Gabba in Brisbane on Sunday, players of both teams returned to the field for the final ball after Bangladesh was initially declared the winner by four runs.

Needing five runs to win off the last ball, Blessing Muzarabani was stumped by wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan off Mosaddek Hossain and the Bangladesh players broke into celebrations while the disappointed Zimbabweans were shaking hands with their opponents following what seemed like a four-run defeat.

As the players left the ground, the umpires referred the stumping decision to the third umpire and, to Bangladesh’s shock and Zimbabwe’s relief, the replay showed that the wicketkeeper had collected the ball in front of the stumps, resulting in the stumping being deemed invalid and the delivery called a no-ball.

The MCC Rule 39.1.1 states the following:

"The striker is out Stumped, except as in 39.3, if a ball which is delivered is not called No ball and he/she is out of his/her ground, other than as in 39.3.1 and he/she has not attempted a run when his/her wicket is fairly put down by the wicket-keeper without the intervention of another fielder. Note, however Laws 25.6.2 and 25.6.5 (Dismissal and conduct of a batter and his/her runner) and 27.3 (Position of wicket-keeper)."

Rule 27.3.1 states the following:

"The wicket-keeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or person of the striker or passes the wicket at the striker’s end or the striker attempts a run."

Muzarabani was back on strike to face the final ball, for the second time in the match, with Zimbabwe needing four runs off it this time. However, Bangladesh had the last laugh as Muzarabani swung and missed the free-hit, which was pitched full and wide outside off-stump. Bangladesh eked out a three-run win eventually as Zimbabwe fell to its first defeat in the tournament.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :
Download Sportstar App
Download Sportstar App
 Episode 13: David Gower
Connect With Us