S. Vasudevan named Tamil Nadu senior selection committee chairman

Tamil Nadu Cricket Association on Tuesday named the selection panel - which also comprises K. Bharath Kumar, R. Venkatesh, Tanveer Jabbar and T.R. Arasu.

S. Vasudevan led Tamil Nadu to its Ranji Trophy title win in 1987.   -  K. Pichumani

S. Vasudevan will be the chairman of the fresh senior selection panel, constituted by the newly formed CAC of the TNCA.

After a meeting here on Tuesday, the CAC settled on the name of the accomplished Vasudevan, the last captain from Tamil Nadu to triumph in the Ranji Trophy as the selection committee chief.

A left-arm spinning all-rounder Vasudevan led Tamil Nadu to Ranji triumph in 1987-88. That was a long time ago.

Subsequently Tamil Nadu has come close without winning the Ranji Trophy. A case of so near yet so far.

READ: TNCA makes sweeping changes to Cricket Advisory Committee

“Vasudevan was the last captain to win us the Ranji Trophy. And S. Suresh [chairman of the CAC] took us twice to the Ranji Trophy final. Between them, we hope they will bring home the Ranji Trophy.” TNCA secretary R.S. Ramasaamy told Sportstar.

The CAC had requested the TNCA for additional documents so that any ‘conflict of interest’ could be avoided.

Moreover, from this season, the job of a State selector will be a paid one.

In the two changes in the panel, M. Senthilnathan makes way for Vasudevan as the Chairman.

Then former Tamil Nadu wicket-keeper batsman T.R. Arasu, known for his quick glovework while ‘keeping to spinners, and a counter-punching batsman down the order, comes in for left-arm spinner S. Ramkumar.

Former Tamil Nadu paceman K. Bharath Kumar, former State and Railways off-spinning all-rounder R. Venkatesh and former State batsman Tanveer Jabbar continue to keep their job.

The panel will have its hands full in a domestic season, whose shape and form is still a matter of suspense.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :