TNPL: Kanchi Veerans registers first win

Aparajith’s first innings effort with the bat (41 not out) and Ajith Ram’s spin heroics turn the tide for Veerans against Lyca Kovai Kings.

Ajith Ram of Lyca Kovai Kings celebrating a wicket during the TNPL match against VB Kanchi Veerans at the Sankar Nagar Ground in Tirunelveli on Sunday.   -  R. RAGU

VB Kanchi Veerans had not won a match so far this season. But this time it came out with all guns blazing to register a stunning 14-run win over strong contender Lyca Kovai Kings here on Sunday.

Chasing 117, the Kings did not enjoy the kind of start that it wanted. Openers Shahrukh Khan and Abhinav Mukund fell in quick succession to spinner Aushik Srinivas (three for 12). With Antony Dhas back in the hut as well and the bowlers keeping a tight line, the Veerans smelt victory for the first time in the match.

It applied the pressure from there and the Kings fell into it. Earlier, skipper B. Aparajith hit a fighting unbeaten 41 (32b, 2x4, 2x6) to steer the Veerans to a respectable 116 for eight.

Brief scores: VB Kanchi Veerans 116 for eight in 20 overs (S. Arun 29, B. Aparajith 41*; Ajith Ram 3/16) beat Lyca Kovai Kings 102 for nine in 20 overs (Ashwin Venkataraman 35; Aushik Srinivas 3/12, R. Divakar 2/16).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :