Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Kishan 173, Aaron six-fer lead Jharkhand to second-biggest List-A win

Ishan Kishan's 173 and Varun Aaron's 6/37 blew away Madhya Pradesh as it lost by a record 324 runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Holkar Stadium in Indore on Saturday.

Ishan Kishan struck 11 sixes and 19 fours during his 94-ball 173: File Picture   -  TWITTER

Jharkhand skipper's Ishan Kishan's 94-ball 173 and Varun Aaron's 6/37 blew away Madhya Pradesh as it lost a mammoth 324 runs - the second-biggest defeat in List-A history.

Batting first,  Jharkhand amassed 422 for nine from 50 overs as Kishan's whirlwind hundred, followed by stellar fifties from Anukul Roy (72), Virat Singh (68) and Sumit Kumar (52) led the side to the highest total in Vijay Hazare Trophy history.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Ishan Kishan slams 94-ball 173 against Madhya Pradesh  

Kishan provided Jharkhand with an early thrust riding on a breathtaking 94-ball 173, his highest List A score. The wicketkeeper-batsman struck 11 sixes and 19 fours during his whirlwind knock.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 Live Score: Ishan Kishan hits 173; Gurkeerat ton powers Punjab to 288/4 vs TN

In reply, Jharkhand pacer Varun Aaron snapped the Madhya Pradesh top-order with four quick wickets. Bal Krishna, Shahbaz Nadeem and Rahul Shukla too joined into share four wickets between them. Madhya Pradesh innings never got going and Aaron, who could not find any bidders at the IPL 2021 auction, came back to seal the game for Jharkhand while recording figures of 6/37.

Jharkhand's 324-run win is the highest-ever win Vijay Hazare Trophy history, beating the previous record by a 42-run margin.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :