Vijay Hazare Trophy: Saini stars as Delhi beats Baroda

India international Shikhar Dhawan failed to impress but Delhi's bowlers rose to the occasion to beat Baroda in a league match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Published : Oct 04, 2019 20:25 IST , Vadodara

Navdeep Saini starred with the ball by claiming three wickets.
Navdeep Saini starred with the ball by claiming three wickets.

Navdeep Saini starred with the ball by claiming three wickets.

India pacer Navdeep Saini claimed three wickets as Delhi defeated Baroda by 10-runs in a rain-curtailed Elite Group B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy national one-day tournament, here on Friday.

The match was delayed due to wet outfield and it was reduced to a 38-over-a-side affair at the Moti Bagh Stadium.

Put in to bat, Delhi was bundled out for 148 in 37.4 overs with Nitish Rana top-scoring with a 42-ball 27. Anuj Rawat and Manan Sharma chipped in with 21 and 18 runs respectively.

Senior batsman Shikhar Dhawan, who is returning to the Delhi side, was the first to depart for 7.

For Baroda, captain Krunal Pandya starred with the ball returning with the figures of figures 4/34, while Atit Sheth scalped two wickets, including that of Dhawan, giving away 41 runs.

Chasing a revised target of 139, Baroda was folded for 128 in 33.2 overs, thanks to a disciplined effort by the Delhi bowlers.

Speedster Saini picked up three wickets, while left-arm pacer Kulwant Khejroliya and spinner Pawan Negi took two wickets each.

The Delhi bowlers struck at regular intervals starting with the dismissal of opener Kedar Devdhar (20) in the ninth over. Aditya Waghmode (1) was the next to depart.

Krunal Pandya and Devdhar were the top scorers for Baroda, both scoring 20 each.

Tailender Lukman Meriwala provided momentary hope to Baroda. His 16-run knock was laced with two boundaries but with 11 runs needed the 27-year-old was dismissed off a Nitish Rana delivery.

Meanwhile in the other match of the day, half centuries by Jayant Yadav (67) and Sumit Kumar (64 not out) helped Haryana beat Odisha by 4 wickets.

The match between Himachal Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Brief Scores: Odisha: 207 for 9 in 46 overs ( G Poddar 64 not out; Hrashal Patel 3/56) vs Haryana: 208 for 6 in 43.5 overs (Jayant Yadav 67, Sumit Kumar 64 not out; Deepak Behra 2/31).

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment