Poor shot selection and lack of patience required to stitch partnerships paved way for India’s 31-run defeat against West Indies in the second Twenty20 match at Mulapadu on Sunday.

After restricting the visitor for 137, India was off a disastrous start with the top order - barring skipper Harmanpreet Kaur (43 runs, 50m, 37b, 3x6, 1x4) – not striving to lay a platform for a calculative assault at a later stage in the match.

Harmanpreet, strode in after the fall of Veda Krishnamurthy, when India was 36 for 3. She ploughed a lone furrow and much to her dismay her partners kept unleashing indiscreet strokes. It seemed the batsmen failed to judge adequately the length of the balls they faced.

West Indies fielders’ also precipitated India’s downfall as a couple of stunning catches were taken, such as the one by Shamilia Connell at deep mid-wicket which saw the back of Jhulan Goswami.

Earlier, West Indies, put in to bat by India, was able to put 137 on the board in the allotted 20 overs. The last over by Ekta Bisht prevented an even higher total as she succeeded in dismissing both the well-set Stafanie Taylor and Merissa Aguilleira, thus preventing the final assault by the visitor.

Two partnerships between Taylor-Dottin (48 runs in 40 balls) Taylor-Aguilleira (48 runs in 35 balls) saw the visitor posting a respectable total. Taylor (47 runs, 80m, 46b, 4x4), who played a sheet anchor knock in the Friday win, waged a lone battle until the last ball and opener Hayley Matthews was in her elements as she dealt only with boundaries.

The last match of the three-match series will be played on Tuesday.

The scores:

West Indies: Hayley Matthews c Harmanpreet b Shikha 27, Stafanie Taylor c Jhulan b Ekta 47, Britney Cooper c Meghana b Deepti 5, Deandra Dottin c Anuja b Shikha 35, Merissa Aguilleira (run out) 21, Kycia Knight (not out) 0;

Extras: (lb- 2): 2; Total: (for five wickets in 20 overs) 137.

Fall of Wickets: 1-35, 2-41, 3-89, 4-137, 5-137.

India bowling: Jhulan Goswami 4-0-27-0, Anuja Patil 3-0-17-0, Ekta Bisht 4-0-26-1, Shikha Pandey 4-0-29-2, Deepti Sharma 4-0-27-1, Preeti Bose 1-0-9-0.

India: Smriti Mandhana c Cooper b Selman 4, S. Meghana lbw Hayley 17, Deepti Sharma c & b Anisa 24, Veda Krishnamurthy b Hayley 5, Harmanpreet Kaur c Shaquana b Dottin 43, Shikha Pandey c Shaquana b Anisa 5, Anuja Patil lbw Anisa 0, Jhulan Goswami c Connell b Dottin 3, Ekta Bisht c Cooper b Dottin 0, Nuzhat Parveen c Anisa b Shaquana 1, Preeti Bose (not out) 1; Extras (lb-2): 2; Total (in 18.1 overs) 106.

Fall of Wickets: 1-5, 2-29, 3-37, 4-59, 5-73, 6-74, 7-80, 8-80, 9-87.

West Indies bowling: Shakera Selman 3-0-22-1, Deandra Dottin 3.1-0-24-3, Hayley Matthews 4-1-15-2, Anisa Mohammed 4-0-23-3, Shaquana Quintyne 4-0-22-1.

Toss: India

Results: West Indies won by 31 runs.