Wyatt to Taylor - 12 overseas players to light up Women's T20 Challenge

The three teams -- Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity -- will have four overseas players each.

England's Danielle Wyatt will be one of the star player at the Women’s T20 Challenge.   -  AFP Photo

The Women’s T20 Challenge, which begins in Jaipur from May 6, will see participation of 12 overseas players.

England’s Natalie Sciver, Sophie Ecclestone, Danielle Wyatt and New Zealand’s Sophie Devine, Lea Tahuhu, Suzie Bates, Amelia Kerr are going to be the star attractions. The league will also have other prominent names in West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor, Hayley Matthews.

Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu and Bangladesh’s Jahanara Alam have also found a place in the league.

Each of the three teams -- Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity -- will have four overseas players. After round-robin league stage, the final will be played on May 11.

Read: Harmanpreet, Smriti and Mithali to captain sides at Women’s T20 Challenge

“While three top Indian cricketers (Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj) will lead the three teams, our target was to ensure the participation of some prominent international cricketers. We hope this league will be a success,” a top BCCI official told Sportstar.

Bangladesh’s former captain, Jahanara, is excited to be part of the league. She will be featuring for Velocity -- a team captained by Mithali.

“It is a big thing for me to be part of the Women’s IPL. I never thought that this opportunity will come my way, but now that I have made it, I hope to make it count,” Jahanara said.

She is the first Bangladesh cricketer to make the cut and is looking forward to share the dressing room with some of the big names. “I hope to learn a lot from Mithali and Jhulan, who have almost 20 years of experience. My immediate target is to make it to the final 11 and then prove my mettle,” Jahanara said.

The teams are likely to assemble in Jaipur on May 2.

The overseas players in the league

Supernovas: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Natalie Sciver (England), Sophie Devine (New Zealand).

Trailblazers: Shakera Selman (West Indies), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Suzie Bates (New Zealand).

Velocity: Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Danielle Wyatt (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :