AFC Asian Cup: India announces 23-member squad

National coach Stephen Constantine has named India's final 23-member squad for the AFC Asian Cup 2019.

Sandesh Jhingan, Gurpeet Singh and Sunil Chhetri will be among key Indian players to watch out for at the AFC Asian Cup 2019.   -  Twitter @IndianFootball

Indian football team coach Stephen Constantine announced his final 23-member squad for the AFC Asian Cup 2019 on Wednesday.

READ | India, Oman to play in a behind closed doors friendly

There are no major surprises with most of the core team, including skipper Sunil Chhetri, goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh, defensive mainstay Sandesh Jhingan and pacy midfielder Udanta Singh retaining their places in the team.

Constantine said: "It was very important to keep on the continuity. It’ll be silly of me to completely change the way we do things. Most of these boys are with us for some time now."

"The other five boys (from the list of 28) will also stay with us until January 2, 2019. In case of an injury or anything else happens, these five boys will need to step up,” he continued.

“We are looking forward to the massive tournament. We hope these 23 boys will do a good job for us," he added.

Goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharya, Farukh Choudhary, Lalruatthara, Manvir Singh and Lallianzuala Chhangte are the players who didn't a find a place in the final squad.


The Blue Tigers are set to face Oman in a closed doors friendly game on December 27, before taking on a local club on December 30th in their preparation for the AFC Asian Cup.

The Indians have been placed alongside host UAE, Bahrain and Thailand in Group A and will begin their campaign against Thailand on January 6. 

Squad in full

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Vishal Kaith.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Sarthak Golui, Salam Ranjan Singh, Anas Edathodika, Sandesh Jhingan, Subhasish Bose, Narayan Das.

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Germanpreet Singh, Vinit Rai, Rowllin Borges, Pronay Halder, Ashique Kuruniyan, Halicharan Narzary.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi, Balwant Singh.


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :