Bolivia coach Baldivieso slams 'disgraceful' penalty decision

The penalty decision in the 98th minute led Vidal to slot home the winning goal and eliminate Bolivia from the tournament.

Bolivia - Cropped

Bolivia players surround the referee after the controversial decision.

Bolivia coach Julio Cesar Baldivieso slammed the "disgraceful" decision that led to his side's heartbreaking loss to Chile in the Copa America Centenario on Friday. 

A stunning free-kick from Jhasmani Campos had cancelled out Arturo Vidal's opener in the Group D clash at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, but the drama came deep into second half stoppage-time.

Referee Jair Marrufo, from the United States, called a controversial handball in the box against Luis Gutierrez in the 98th minute, with Vidal slotting home the winning goal from the spot.

The loss saw Bolivia eliminated from the tournament following Argentina's win over Panama, and Baldivieso was left fuming, believing the referee had "invented" the penalty out of nothing. 

"It is disgraceful what has happened," the 44-year-old said. "It's an outrage for football. You have to ask if there is already a champion for the Copa America decided. Chile did not need the help of a referee. It hurts to lose to a penalty that was invented."

He added: "I ask them to analyse the video and tell me where those eight minutes came from, too. 

"They even put referees on that don't even speak the same language as the players."



Support Sportstar


Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos