De Bruyne and Salah lead Player of the Year nominees

Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne lead the PFA Players' Player of the Year nominations, with three Manchester City players in the running.

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne of Manchester City   -  Getty Images

The Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) have revealed their nominees for the Players' Player of the Year award, with Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne chief among them.

Liverpool forward Salah and Manchester City midfielder De Bruyne have been shortlisted alongside two of the latter's team-mates, Leroy Sane and David Silva, Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea. 

De Bruyne has played a vital role in City's relentless charge towards the Premier League title, making 15 assists and scoring seven times.

The Belgium international's all-round performances have drawn rave reviews throughout the campaign and he was considered the hot favourite for the PFA award for several months.

However, Salah has emerged as a real challenger to the Belgian after maintaining his outstanding form in the Premier League.

Having arrived from Roma last year, the former Chelsea winger has transitioned seamlessly, scoring 29 times in 31 league appearances.

That haul leaves him just two shy of the Premier League record for goals in a single 38-game season, with Liverpool still having five games to play.

Salah's closest challenger for the Golden Boot is Kane on 25 goals, and the prolific England star has been nominated for the Player of the Year award for the fourth year in succession.

United will have been disappointed not to get closer to runaway leaders City this term, though one constant for them has been the form of De Gea, who is the only goalkeeper among the nominees.

Given City's immense campaign, it is no surprise to see De Bruyne joined by Sane and Silva.

Sane has improved his consistency this term and developed into arguably the league's best left winger, while Silva has continued to be one the division's best midfielders, despite enduring a difficult time off the field due to his young son's health issues.

Kane and Sane are also in the running for the PFA Young Player of the Year award, as are Ederson, Raheem Sterling, Marcus Rashford and Ryan Sessegnon of Fulham. Sessegnon becomes the first player from outside the top flight to be nominated for the prize.


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :