Icardi, Dybala in Argentina's provisional World Cup squad

Despite doubts over their chances of making the World Cup, Paulo Dybala and Mauro Icardi are in Argentina's provisional squad.

Paulo Dybala training with Argentina   -  Getty Images

Mauro Icardi and Paulo Dybala have been included in Argentina's provisional 35-man squad for the World Cup.

The attacking duo have been named alongside captain Lionel Messi and the injured Sergio Aguero in head coach Jorge Sampaoli's plans.

Both Icardi and Dybala have seen their chances of making the final World Cup squad cast into doubt since Sampaoli left them out of the group for the international friendlies in March.

It has been suggested Juventus star Dybala will be part of the 23-man party heading to Russia, despite his indifferent form in the latter part of the season, while Inter striker Icardi is not expected to be included.

A knee injury kept Aguero out of Manchester City's last six games of the Premier League season, but it is expected he will be fully fit for the tournament.

Zenit midfielder Matias Kranevitter has missed out on a place in the 35-man group, while there is no sign of veteran Carlos Tevez.

Argentina's provisional World Cup squad in full:

Franco Armani (River Plate), Willy Caballero (Chelsea), Nahuel Guzman (Tigres UANL), Sergio Romero (Manchester United); Marcos Acuna (Sporting CP), Cristian Ansaldi (Torino), Federico Fazio (Roma), Ramiro Funes Mori (Everton), Javier Mascherano (Hebei China Fortune), Gabriel Mercado (Sevilla), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), German Pezzella (Fiorentina), Marcos Rojo (Manchester United), Eduardo Salvio (Benfica), Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax); Ever Banega (Sevilla), Rodrigo Battaglia (Sporting CP), Lucas Biglia (AC Milan), Ricardo Centurion (Racing), Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Giovani Lo Celso (Paris Saint-Germain), Maximiliano Meza (Independiente), Leandro Paredes (Zenit), Cristian Pavon (Boca), Enzo Perez (River Plate), Pablo Perez (Boca Juniors), Guido Pizarro (Sevilla); Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Mauro Icardi (Inter), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus), Lautaro Martinez (Racing), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Diego Perotti (Roma).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :