UCL final: Why was Benzema's goal flagged offside? Rule explained

Benzema slotted the ball into the net in the Champions League final in the Liverpool box but the Frenchman's goal was ruled offside.

Benzema puts the ball in the net in the Champions League final.   -  REUTERS

Karim Benzema looked to have given Real Madrid the lead against Liverpool in the Champions League final before the assistant referee flagged the goal offside.

In the 43rd minute, Benzema slotted the ball into the net after a defensive scramble in the Liverpool box but the Frenchman's celebrations were cut short when the assistant raised his flag.

MORE | Championship playoffs final Huddersfield vs Nottingham Forest: All you need to know

Video Assistant Referee (VAR) check took nearly two minutes before the assistant's decision was upheld amid confusion among many regarding the offside law.

The moment Benzema was offside before he was involved on the ball. (Screengrab)

 

The offside rule states that if the goalkeeper is the second-last opponent and you are behind him, you will be deemed as offside. However, if there are two players behind the goalkeeper, as seen in this instance, you will only be offside if you are ahead of the second-last opponent.

And while the final touch prior to Benzema's finish appeared to come off Fabinho, it was ruled accidental.

The final remains goalless at half-time.

Two United fans look back at Liverpool's UCL final loss

 

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :