Dublin to host Euro 2020 qualifiers draw

The Ireland capital will also be a host city for the marquee event.

The qualifying games will be held in December, 2018.   -  Getty Images (Representative Image)

Dublin will host the draw for qualifying groups for the 2020 European football championships on December 2, 2018, UEFA announced on Thursday.

All 55 UEFA member nations will be drawn in 10 pools of five or six teams for the March-November 2019 qualifiers for a competition that will be staged in 13 cities across Europe.

Twenty teams, the first two in each of the 10 pools, will advance to Euro 2020, with the remaining four contenders emerging from the playoffs, for which teams will qualify via the new UEFA Nations League.

Dublin is set to stage three group games and one round-of-16 tie in Euro 2020. The other host cities will be Amsterdam, Baku, Bilbao, Brussels, Bucharest, Budapest, Copenhagen, Glasgow, London, Munich, Rome and Saint Petersburg.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos