Manchester City 4 Bournemouth 0: Aguero inspires emphatic win

Sergio Aguero scored a brace as Manchester City hammered struggling Bournemouth 4-0 at the Etihad Stadium on Saturday.

Published : Dec 23, 2017 23:50 IST

Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero in action.
Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero in action.

Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero in action.

Manchester City's astonishing winning run stretched to 17 games with a 4-0 hammering of Bournemouth at the Etihad Stadium, as record-breaker Sergio Aguero stole the show with a double.

Pep Guardiola's side could perhaps be accused of not reaching its usual lofty standards, but Bournemouth rarely appeared capable of punishing any complacency and once Aguero – who is reportedly unhappy with his coach's rotation policy – opened the scoring, there was no looking back.


City looked particularly sluggish at times in the first half, though it still was not surprising when it took the lead just before the half-hour mark, as Aguero nodded in his 100th goal at the Etihad, the perfect tonic for any Guardiola grievances.

The host tightened things up in the second half and looked a far more focused unit, especially after doubling its lead through Sterling, who scored his seventh goal in five games against the Cherries.

Read: Conte's men held to goalless draw by Everton

Aguero doubled his tally for the day 11 minutes from time with another well-taken header to round off an impressive performance from the Argentinian.

And Danilo added its fourth late in the day with his first goal for the club, as City goes to within two victories of the longest winning run ever in Europe's top five leagues and 14 points clear of Manchester United, which face Leicester City later on Saturday.

Also read: Manchester City exceeding even Guardiola's expectations

Despite City's attempts to monopolise possession, Bournemouth will have been happy with its start, as it went close to the opening goal in the 10th minute.

Adam Smith darted up the right flank and delivered a cross, pulling it back towards the edge of the area where Junior Stanislas was waiting to volley just wide of the right-hand post.

City eventually crafted its first opportunity 10 minutes later, as Aguero latched on to a lofted pass from Nicolas Otamendi and put his effort over.

He found his range shortly after, though, steering a stooping header into the bottom-left corner from Fernandinho's cross after being left completely unmarked.

But Bournemouth finished the first half well and threatened to equalise just before the break.

Ryan Fraser's pass in behind City's defence forced Ederson to rush off his line and make a tackle on the edge of the area, knocking the ball to Kyle Walker, who passed it straight to Callum Wilson, only for Otamendi to make an important last-ditch intervention.

Also read: The whole world is smitten - Xavi lauds Guardiola's City

City appeared much sharper all over the pitch upon the restart, affording Bournemouth even fewer opportunities to attack.

And its second goal in the 53rd minute effectively ended the visitor's already slim chances.

David Silva – back after missing the last two games for personal reasons – found Aguero on the edge of the box and the striker flicked a fine pass into the area for Sterling to collect and slot past Asmir Begovic.

City's control on proceedings only seemed to increase after that goal and it added a third for good measure in the 79th minute – Aguero heading in Bernardo Silva's fine cross.

Danilo then rounded things off late on, sweeping a left-footed effort inside the left-hand post after a fine run and pass from the electric Sterling.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment