FIFA U-20 World Cup in numbers

Korea Republic has hosted four FIFA tournaments so far: the FIFA Confederations Cup (2011), the FIFA World Cup, the FIFA U-17 World Cup (2007) and the FIFA U-20 World Cup. The ‘grand slam’ of hosting all four of FIFA's 11-a-side men's tournaments has been achieved by only two other countries previously – Japan and Mexico. Photo: Getty Images
U-20 World Cup graduates have gone on to compete in the senior FIFA World Cup, while 32 have lifted the most coveted Trophy in the beautiful game. Among them, only ten players have won both the FIFA U-20 World Cup and the FIFA World Cup: Bebeto, Iker Casillas, Dida, Dunga, Jorginho, Diego Maradona, Carlos Marchena, Muller, Claudio Taffarel and Xavi Hernandez. Photo: Getty Images
A total of 90 different countries have been represented at the U-20 World Cup during the 21 editions since 1977, with newcomers Vanuatu and Vietnam set to make their debut at Korea Republic 2017. Coincidentally, the latest debutants herald from the same region that the same fresh pair from New Zealand 2015: Fiji from Oceania and Myanmar from southeast Asia. Photo: Getty Images
11 goals at the 2001 edition not only earned Javier Saviola the adidas Golden Shoe, but set a tournament record that still stands. The former Argentina striker's predatory skills helped La Albiceleste clinch the 2001 crown with a tournament record haul of 27 goals, and he remains the U-20 World Cup's all-time leading scorer. Photo: Getty Images
Eight different U-20 World Cups - a tournament record - were overseen by Les Scheinflug as coach of Australia. Other U-20 coaching veterans include the esteemed Jose Pekerman, who won three of the four U-20 World Cups in which he led Argentina, Berti Vogts, Carlos Queiroz, Raymond Domenech and Ange Postecoglou. Photo: Getty Images
With six U-20 World Cup titles (1979, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005 and 2007) Argentina is the tournament's most successful team. Brazil follows on five, with two-time winners Portugal the only other country to have lifted the trophy more than once. Ghana is the only African side to have won the title, in 2009. Photo: Getty Images
For the past five consecutive U-20 World Cups, the tournament has kicked off without the reigning champion. Serbia, winners in 2015, failed to qualify to defend its title in Korea Republic, following in the footsteps of France in 2015, Brazil in 2013, Ghana in 2011 and Argentina in 2009. Photo: Getty Images