Girona FC’s top players to play in Kochi

The La Liga club is visiting India for the first time for the tournament.

Representative Image: Girona FC finished 10th in the La Liga last season.

Spanish La Liga team Girona FC will field a strong team comprising its top players in the La Liga World tournament to be held here from July 24 to 28. The club, which finished 10th in its La Liga debut in 2017-18, is visiting India for the first time for the tournament.

La Liga World will be held in Kochi with Indian Super League club Kerala Blasters FC, Australia’s A-League team Melbourne City FC and Girona FC locking horns in a three-way tournament, a pre-season event.

Girona FC will take on Melbourne City FC and Kerala Blasters on July 27 and 28 respectively. It is the first team from Spain’s top division league, La Liga, to play in India.

Sparking change

La Liga country manager (India), Jose Cachaza, said, “We massively look forward to Girona FC’s visiting and playing in India for the first time. Seeing a top ten La Liga football club in person will surely spark a change in the footballing environment of this country and we are glad to have played our part to make it happen for the fans in India.”

Read: Rain threat looms large over La Liga World pre-season tourney in Kochi

Girona FC president Delfi Geli said, “It is an honour for our club to participate in this tournament in India. For Girona FC it will be a special experience as it will be the first time our team has played away from Europe since its foundation 88 years ago.”

“We are looking forward to starting the tournament and showing the football that we have displayed in La Liga to the Indian football fans and the world,” he added.

Girona FC squad
  • Goalkeepers: Gorka Iraizoz Moreno, Yassine Bounou, Marc Vito Brezmes
  • Defenders: Bernardo Jose Espinosa Zuniga, Jonas Ramalho Chimeno, Pedro Alcala Guirado, Francisco Aday Benitez Caraballo, Martinez Muniesa, Juan Pedro Ramirez Lopez, Sebastia Coris Cardenosa.
  • Strikers: Alex Granell Nogue, Pere Pons Riera, David Timor Copovi, Borja Garcia Friere, Aleix Garcia Serrano (midfielders), Cristian Portugues Manzanera, Antony Ruben Lozano Colon, Yhoan Many Andzouana, Kevin Olivier Soni, Pedro Antonio Porro Sauceda.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :