I-League: Seven clubs join hands to fight AIFF 'injustice'

The seven clubs will meet to decide on their future course of action after AIFF cut down number of I-League matches to be telecast live.

Minerva Punjab and Shillong Lajong and five other I-League clubs formed the private body to decide on their course of action after AIFF cut down I-League matches to be telecast live. (Representative Image)   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Seven I-League clubs have joined hands to fight the All India Football Federation's (AIFF) "injustice" after it decided to cut down the number of I-League matches to be telecast live.

Minerva Punjab FC, Chennai City FC, NEROCA FC, Aizawl FC, Gokulam Kerala FC, Real Kashmir FC and Shillong Lajong FC have formed the I-League (Private) Clubs Association and will meet in Kolkata on Sunday to discuss their future course of action.

Terming the initiative #SaveILeagueSaveIndianFootball, the clubs, in a statement, said it was an effort to “make our voices heard and in an attempt to mobilise the entire football community to fight the injustice being meted out to the top-division football league of the country.”

READ | Selective telecast of I-League matches causes furore

The AIFF had recently announced that broadcasters would provide TV coverage to only 31 out of the remaining 61 matches in the I-League this season.

Defending champion Minerva Punjab FC will be the worst-hit, while Mohun Bagan will be the only side that retain television coverage for all of its matches.

Spearheading the initiative, Minerva owner Ranjit Bajaj said: “There is a concerted effort to destroy the I-League. The time has come for all of us to protest unitedly and, if needed, approach the court.”

Kolkata’s big two, Mohun Bagan and East Bengal, and Goan heavyweight Churchill Brothers are yet to join the new body.

“We have reached out to them and await their confirmation,” the statement said.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :