Junior Girls' National C'ship: Fifth season set to commence in Kolhapur

The tourney will serve as a platform for scouting talent for next year's FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup.

Tamil Nadu won the title in 2018.

The fifth edition of the Junior National Football Championship is set to begin on Saturday, April 20, 2019. It will be held in Kolhapur, Maharashtra.

The tourney will serve as a platform for scouting talent for the FIFA U-117 Women's World Cup, which will be held next year. Twenty seven teams will participate; they will be divided into eight groups, with the winner from each group making it to the semifinals.

Tamil Nadu, the defending champion, has been drawn alongside Delhi and Madhya Pradesh in Group B. On Saturday, six matches will be held across two venues — the Rajarshi Shahu Stadium and Polo Ground.

Manipur has been the most successful team in the history of the Championship. It has won three titles.

The fixtures for Day 1 (Saturday)

Jharkhand vs Jammu and Kashmir (Group A)

Tamil Nadu vs Madhya Pradesh (Group B)

Manipur vs Uttarakhand (Group C)

Goa vs Tripura (Group C)

West Bengal vs Arunachal Pradesh (Group D)

Haryana vs Karnataka (Group D).

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos