Vicente del Bosque has named veteran striker Aritz Aduriz in Spain's preliminary squad for Euro 2016, but there is no place for Chelsea's Diego Costa.

Arsenal midfielder Santi Cazorla has been left out having only returned from a knee injury in the 4-0 win over Aston Villa on Sunday, while Manchester United's Juan Mata has also been omitted.

"Cazorla has been injured for months and he has made an effort, but we don't want the uncertainty that he won't be in good shape," Del Bosque said after announcing his selection.

"I was sorry about Mata but it's how it is. You have to leave names out and think about who we believe can be the most useful. When you're in doubt, you have to be practical."

Rising Atletico Madrid star Saul Niguez and Real Madrid youngster Lucas Vazquez have been called up for the initial 25-man squad, which must be reduced to 23 before the finals.


Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Porto), David De Gea (Man United), Sergio Rico (Sevilla).

Defenders: Sergio Ramos, Dani Carvajal (both Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué, Jordi Alba, Marc Bartra (all Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Mikel San José (Athletic Club), Juanfran (Atletico).

Midfielders: Bruno (Villarreal), Sergio Busquets, Andres Iniesta (both Barcelona), Thiago (Bayern), Isco (Real Madrid), David Silva (Manchester City), Pedro, Cesc Fabregas (both Chelsea), Saúl, Koke (both Atletico).

Forwards: Aritz Aduriz (Athletic), Nolito (Celta Vigo), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Lucas Vázquez (Madrid).